We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-but hold off if they're doing work on the elevators!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark to your Saves list
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ballpark Village Sushi
Ranked #47 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location-but hold off if they're doing work on the elevators!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We decided on this hotel based on location so that we would not need to rent a vehicle on our family mini vacation. Due to location, the price was a bit steeper than we'd normally pay for a long weekend away. The amenities were nice, beautiful entrance, clean, but they were working on the rooftop bar...and that's where we had issues. It was a bustling 4th of July weekend, there was a wedding party, and then Fair of St Louis as well. You can imagine the numbers of people wanting to get to their rooms. Well they have this fancy elevator keyboard that is supposed to be smart and keep people moving by ushering folks to the A or B elevator because the C bank was closed. Well, let's just say I'm glad we were only on the 4th floor as we had to take the stairs MANY times and many others did as well. So much so that the Hilton sent a letter to all rooms apologizing for the work, and to please use the stairs as much as possible! I heard some people waited 15-20 minutes in line because their rooms were some of the higher floors! It was an unfortunate event, so I don't want to deter anyone from staying at this hotel, becuase it was very nice. Our room had a view of the Arch, the old court building (because we asked) and the pool was very nice as well with the view of Busch Stadium!

Room Tip: ask for it when booking online, you may be surprised, we got a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to let you know that all elevators renovations are complete. We have had all the east tower renovations complete for about 7 weeks now. The holiday weekend in July was extremely busy and very difficult during the renovation. Since then we have updated some of our west tower elevators which needed attention as well. I am happy to announce that all of the guests elevators are operational. Thank you for the other positive aspects that you mentioned about the property. It really has become a beautiful hotel that offers many amenities to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    473
    308
    160
    91
See reviews for
349
361
88
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at this property repeatedly with groups. It is the best location downtown--within walking distance to the Arch, ballpark and Union Station. The staff is very attentive to our group needs and does a great job of follow-through from beginning to end!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. I agree that this is the best place in St. Louis for groups, catering, banquets and meetings. We are able to accommodate large groups, take very good care of them on property and have many additional venues within walking distance. We look forward to having your group here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

After reading the less than stellar on line reviews about this property, we arrived with low expectations. We arrived at 3:15 and were told (by a verry smug young man at the front desk) that our room wasn't ready and that check in time was 4. I understand that you can't always get in your room before official check-in, but the arrogant little man at the front desk could have at least pretended to care. We waited over a drink at the bar in the lower level (very nice) and our room was ready at 4 PM. We were in the west tower, the room was nice enough, but there was trash on the floor of the room, it was clear that the room had been 'rush" cleaned.
On the plus side, the concierge was friendly, the bellmen were nice, and the valet parking was well managed. The elevators in this place were just awful, after the ballgame both nights we stayed, long lines waited at the elevators, the elevator capacity just can't handle the sudden rush that occurs after an event is over. Even at times other than peak rush, the wait for elevators is long.

We would stay at this property again, but only after researching other options close to the ballpark. It certainly is convenient, but half of the employees appear to work very hard, and half just don't care. The potential is there, but the effort is lacking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate the review. The associates make all the difference in quality of your stay. Most of the employees do try very hard to take good care of the guests and show that they care. However, I am becoming aware of some of the associates that need training and others that need some coaching. We have a good deal of new staff and we will be working to develop better communication skills. The elevators can be a challenge after a major sporting event when all the guests want to access them at the same time. But, any elevator system would be challenged during a peak time such as this. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena MT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Just checked in to the Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark tonight. While the location is great - across the street from Busch Stadium - the property has issues!

First, the bed frame on one of the beds in our room sticks out on one side by 3-4 inches, which is hidden by the bed skirt. I didn't see it, tripped over it, and have a huge bruise on my ankle to show for it. That's dangerous...for guests and for their housekeeping staff. I'm sure I'm not the first person to run into it.

Second, the hotel offers two tiers of internet service - Regular for 9.95/day, and "turbo" for 15.95/day. Besides the ridiculous pricing, the "turbo" service is about as fast as the pony express. What a rip off!

Finally, the walls are paper thin. We can hear every word of conversation in the room next door to us, and we can hear it clearly.

All that, and it's just the first night. I'm in for a looonnng week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for the feedback. It was nice to speak to you personally and fix the issues that you were experiencing while you were still here. I hope the rest of your stay goes very well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Everyone, from the sales manager to the wait staff, are very courteous and extremely accommodating. The hotel itself is very, very nice with more than adequate meeting space. We took our customers to a Cardinals ballgame, and the ballpark is right across the street from the hotel so there was no need for shuttle services. We have used this hotel for the past 5 years and will certainly go back in 2012!

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for the Trip Advisor review. This is really the ideal place to have a business meeting. The banquet staff takes excellent care of the guests and the perk of adding a baseball outing to the schedule works out very well. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

1st trip to St Louis and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Check in was a breeze, breakfast was delicious, and just a quick walk to the ballpark and Arch. I enjoyed having a Starbucks right in the lobby. Staff was awesome. I want to thank O Phillip Brandon and Long Pham for their assistance. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for the Trip Advisor review. I am so happy to hear that you had such a positive experience. I will share your comments with Phil and Long. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Our experience at this hotel has been terrible. We booked here months ago to accomodate our large group including 5 small children and my 84 year old mother in a wheelchair. The main reason for choosing this hotel for our baseball family get-together was proximity to the ballpark and the Hilton reputation. While writing this I am exhausted. Exhausted by rooms not ready(even at 7 o'clock), reservations scrambled, promises of close rooms in resort being flung over the hotel, and waiting in multiple lines. Lines to check in, lines for bell carts, lines for elevators. Luggage for 5 rooms stored in the one available room. Nightmare of more waiting as everything is transferred around. One member of our group carried luggage for four people down 19 floors. In all fairness the manager was sympathetic and tried to make it right for us. However I don't know that we'll ever stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmoll, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that we let you down. The majority of the time, the check-in process goes very smooth. However, there are some few times that we are literally overrun with sheer volumes of people. This generally tends to happen on the weekends especially when the Cardinals change their starting time for the game. While I appreciate the review, there is not very much for me to research without more specific information. Please fell free to contact me directly concerning your recent stay. I would like to have the opportunity to make up for the issues that you faced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark

Address: 1 South Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 675
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis At The Ballpark Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Ballpark Hotel
Hilton Saint Louis
St Louis Hilton Ballpark
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.