We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway Conference April 17-21,2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
St. Louis Cardinals Tix
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Gateway Conference April 17-21,2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel reception from everyone was exemplary beginning the moment I arrived. Everyone has been friendly, accommodating, and professional. I loved the atmosphere of the hotel, historicity was fabulous.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and enjoyed the proximity to conference meeting rooms. The warm chocolat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review on the St Louis Union Station Hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, and it is so wonderful to read your comments on our friendly and outgoing staff. We really care about each guest and I'm glad you saw that! Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back with a warm chocholate chip cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    496
    246
    115
    50
See reviews for
462
354
68
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed on the front side of the hotel. Very nice part of the hotel. Even though the hotel is older and I prefer newer hotels like Hilton at the ball park, the room was ver spacious and clean. Internet connectivity was a breeze. Stayed for four nights and enjoyed every night. concierge service is the best if you can get access. The gym is updated and very clean.
The last time I stayed on the backside of the hotel and did not like room.
Anyway I would stay at this hotel again. Rate it "A"

Room Tip: Try to get room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, found your room spacious and clean, and had a nice experience in our new fitness center. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The DoubleTree - Union Station was our "homebase" for a family reunion which included Cardinals Baseball AND Blues Hockey ... What a great location! Super resurants nearby, too ... Go to Lombardo's ... The service in the bar area in the main hall is exceptional ... our waitress on a Saturday evening, 13-April-2013 was just OUTSTANDING !!! ... even separate checks ... and accrate, too!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a little "different" hotel experience (different good!) ... as this is a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the 5 star review! For St. Louis sports arenas, we are in a great location and within walking distance to both. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at the Union Station Hotel with your family and hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed last weekend April 12-14th. The only thing I really didn't like was parking. You have to park a little ways off and when you arrive, it's confusing as to where you should park and where you should go into the hotel. Even if you use valet service, you're room is still quite the distance. The room was nice. The bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all very nice from the hotel to the bar to Station Grill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for review the St Louis Union Station Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your room and our staff during your stay. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with parking. We do offer two lots, on the south and west side of the station, and valet parking. With a building as large as Union Station, we do have a lot of area to walk. As for self parking, we just ordered signs to direct guests to our self parking lots and to the front desk from the lot. Again, we thank you for choosing the Union Station Hotel and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just sort of stumbled upon this one when we needed a hotel for a night in St. Louis. What an incredibly beautiful building this is! It is convenient to everything downtown. Spend the extra few dollars for valet parking. The bellman and the valet staff are great (hi, Randy!). We were upgraded to the concierge level which has a rather significant "snack" service in the evening and breakfast in the morning, along with a fridge full of cold juices, water, and soft drinks. A very comfortable setting to either rev up for the day ahead, or wind down after a busy day. Without exception, EVERY staff member we encountered anywhere in the hotel greeted us in a very cheerful and welcoming manner. Smiles were ever-present. Clearly a happy workplace. As a guest, it made me feel good to be there. We were in the historic part of the building. If you can manage with just one bed (king or queen), I'd suggest asking to stay there. The architecture is exquisite, the room feels large (very high ceilings), and is quite comfortable. Be sure to check out the "whispering arch" in the grand lobby.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the building and recommend it. Don't know what the rooms are lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
WOW! Thank you! Hearing we're a "favorite hotel" of yours is fantastic! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Our concierge area and lounge are second-to-none, full of delicious food, snacks and plenty of room to relax. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back (and I'll tell Randy you said 'hi').
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We has great service, friendly staff! Upgraded to concierge service and well worth the small fee! Beautiful place. We will go back for sure! The free snacks in concierge lounge included in the price were a full meal! Good food and great value!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and the concierge level. Our lounge is second-to-none and the evening appetizers are definitely filling! Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited STL for an entire week since we were checking out what the city had to offer for the foodie traveler. Staying at the STL Union Station was the best idea since it's so close to downtown! Even better, there is a Metro Link station not even 5 minutes from the hotel (which I definitely recommend getting, if only for the trip from and to the airport) - so the hotel location was perfect. Walking inside, you're totally transported to another era and the hotel lobby/hall was so impressive. Oh and when you check in, you get a warm chocolate chip cookie?! That was the start to an amazing week, that cookie. Erin, at the front desk, went above and beyond her duties to make sure we were settled in, giving us a map and suggestions on where to eat. Breakfast at the Union Station Grille - either buffet or a la carte, great food! The buffet was what we had and the options were varied, fresh, piping hot, and delicious. The fruit bar, pastries, egg station - loved it all. Debbie and Mensur, our waiters on two occasions, were very serviceable. Hungry at 10pm? We ordered room service - their shrimp tacos were awesome, the toasted ravioli as well. Also for breakfast we tried the concierge lounge, where Qiana attended to us like we were the only ones. Heck, I even asked her for suggestions on a tanning salon and she was so diligent! (Oh and if you ask her what her favorite BBQ between Bogart's and Pappy's, she'll say Pappy's!). Our rooms were very clean and we had turn-down service 4 out of the 7 nights we were there. Some of our friends suggested we don't walk around the area at night, but we found it to be perfectly safe. Oh, Sam at the door was also awesome - always asking us where we needed to go and telling us the best way to get there. Another staff favorite, Josh, the bartender in the Union Station Hall, again, so much love for STL and shared some of his favorite spots for pizza. Seriously - this hotel and their staff made me fall in love with STL!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am so happy you enjoyed your time in our hotel and in our city! Our associates are very passionate about their work and love to help our guests experience the best of what St. Louis has to offer. It's great to hear a foodie traveler loved what our hotel restaurants had to offer, and enjoyed everyone you came in contact with. Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back next time your in the Gateway City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#48 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.