We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick business trip to present at conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
St. Louis Cardinals Tix
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Milford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quick business trip to present at conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Upon the recommendation of my client (who was also hosting the one day safety conference) I booked a room at this hotel for Sunday arrival and Monday departure. They upgraded me to a room in the historic train station and it was lovely. My upgrade also included breakfast, but I wasn't able to sample it due to the early start of the safety conference. The architechture was amazing and the staff were very courteous, attentive and exactly what I've come to expect from the Hilton family of hotels. I also ate lunch at their restaurant/grill and it was really great -- again super performance of the staff, excellent food quality and lots of attention to details. The only downside to the experience is that I parked in the South lot and had to transit the shopping mall to get to and from the hotel. I later learned that if I had parked in the West Lot, I could have saved a bit of walking.

Room Tip: There are two facilities -- the original train station, and a separate, modern motel building. I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your upgraded concierge room, the spectacular Station Grille restaurant, and our attentive staff! I really appreciate your time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    490
    246
    115
    50
See reviews for
459
350
67
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed sitting for a drink in the lobby which was the main space of the old train station. Room was perfectly nice and average for Hilton. Breakfast buffet was very good. Has some restaurants nearby but I wouldn't say it is in the heart of the downtown bust area which means driving, cabbing or long walks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! It's great to hear you had a great time in our hotel, and within the Grand Hall lobby and bar. And what a nice picture! I hope we can welcome you back soon for a drink in the lobby and a warm cookie at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on a quick visit to St. Louis. The hotel is situated in the Union Station building which has undergone an extensive restauration effort to restore some of the building's original shine and luxury. Independent shops and eateries are available within the building.

The rooms are spacious enough with roomy bathrooms, TV, coffee maker, and a desk. The hotel staff was courteous and efficient. Beware that self-parking is uncovered and about a block away, so if you have lots of luggage, drop it off at the front entrance before parking your car.

The location is easily reached from the freeways and offers quick access to many of the town's great attractions. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are overjoyed you had a splendid time at our hotel and got to experience all Union Station itself has to offer. I hope you do visit us again on your next visit to St. Louis. We will have a warm cookie waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel itself is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! Transformed from an old train depot into a hotel & shopping mall, there is history around every corner!!!!

This hotel is located within a shopping mall. Now ladies, when I say shopping mall, do NOT get excited. This mall is more "touristy" then anything else (there are a few cute shops, but def not your shopping mall back home!!). Mainly great for picking up your "souvenirs", etc. There is a small food court located inside, as well as a Hard Rock Cafe & Landrey's Seafood outside (you literally have to walk outside to get to these two)... There is also a restaurant located INSIDE the hotel itself that is EXCELLENT!!!!!!

POSITIVE: Beautiful (romantic) hotel. Awesome work-out room. Comfy beds. Friendly staff & attentive to all of your needs. Close to a lot of St Louis attractions. AND yummy cookies at check-in (and anytime you get a craving for one)!!!!!!

NEGATIVE:
~I booked on the hotels website & secured a AAA rate. Upon arrival, I was asked if I would like to "upgrade" our room for $12.00 more per night. I had originally requested a Suite upgrade (due to our Anniversary), so when I was asked if I would like to upgrade, I assumed we would walk into a NICE room. I was completely surprised to walk into a SMALL (but nice) one-room room. When asked what the difference was between what I had originally booked & what I "upgraded" to, the gal stumbled on her words & was only able to tell me that the "view" was nicer. Funny thing is that we were NEVER able to see out our window because they were always frosted over!!!!! So ya, if you are asked at check-in if you would like to upgrade, either make sure you understand 100% what you are upgrading from/to & exactly what the differences are!!!!!!!!!!

~Our room was a bit on the small side (we stayed on Executive Level (4th floor)).

~The parking lot is quite a walk from the hotel (and is $14.00 per night). You actually park outside of the mall, walk thru the mall (yes, carrying your luggage!!), and then up to your room. Due to this, if you can afford it, I would definitely recommend valet parking!!!!!!!

~If you leave late at night & you self- park, the walk from the car, thru the mall & to your room can be a tad intimidating... Especially if you are a lady & are by yourself. The mall closes around 9/10PM, so if you can imagine walking thru a closed mall, by yourself. Ya, I never left without my husband!!! Don't get me wrong, I'm NOT saying that this is not a safe place, nor did we have any problems, but I would def recommend that females NOT be out by themselves late at night.

KUDOS: Our trip was to celebrate our 26th Anniversary. While there, we met a wonderful employee by the name of Kathy. We tended to always bump into Kathy while we we getting off the elevator (she was painting a wall). Me being the history nut that I am, I struck up a conversation with her about the hotel. She took us on a brief tour & shared some cool facts/stories about the hotel. We mentioned the fact about it being our Anniversary & she congratulated us. We finally went on our way, discussing how amazing this lady was. You could tell she LOVED this hotel & her job. We returned our room hours later.... and was completely surprised to find a tray of chocolate-covered strawberries & a bottle of wine, along w/ a card from Kathy!!!!!!!! I do not know if the employees are taught to be this way, or if this was simply Kathy's awesome nature. Either way, we felt SOOO special that night!!!!!!!! We tried to track Kathy down to thank her personally, but never was told she had left for the day. We checked out the next day & was never able to personally tell her how much that small gesture meant to us. I am hoping that the hotel sees this comment & will commend her!!! :o) We brought the card & (empty) wine bottle home, as a reminder of a very special lady!!!!!!!!

OVERALL: All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel. And if you run into "Kathy, the painter lady" tell her that you read about her on Trip Advisor!!!!!!!! :o)

PS - If you need to go into the city, ask about the Metro-Link!!!!!! Well worth it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us, and I am overjoyed that Kathy made it extra special for you two. She is such a special employee, and you experienced first hand her kind and friendly personality! I do apologize for you not receiving a full description of your upgrade, but I wanted to let you know your room was originally booked on the modern "garden side" of the hotel. Being the history buff you are, I can assure you that your stay on our "historic Headhouse" side was great for you. This used to be the actual Terminal Hotel during the rail days. So many aspects of this area are original to the past hotel, even down to the door knockers! Again, thank you for your review and we hope you had an great experience for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've stayed at several St. Louis hotels and from now on I will look to book here first! I love being able to hop on the MetroLink from the airport and then a short stroll through historic Union Station to get to the hotel. Easy walk to downtown or easy to catch a cab. The bar is a great place to just sit and admire the fabulous architecture. The Concierge Lounge is way above average - really nice hot breakfast. The restaurant had an ok wine list and a diverse selection of upscale plates at a reasonable price. The workout facility is exceptional. Rooms were very nice with comfy beds and bathrobes and very important to me - good HVAC (I am a light sleeper!). The seasonal pool would be fun to use. I was not put off by the lack of commerce in the mall - it is well kept up and I hope commerce will come back sometime soon, but if not, you can still enjoy a pleasant place. If you had kids, they would have the space to blow off steam.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the "action" get a room in the historic side. Otherwise you have to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! I am extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! The Grand Hall Bar is a great place to enjoy a drink and admire the beautiful architecture and our concierge lounge is something we take pride in. I am glad you got to experience both. Thank you again for your stay and great review and we cannot wait to welcome you back to our property and serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built inside the old union station and one of the most grand buildings in North America. There are restaurants all around, incl a food court inside the union station. Also there is an Einstein bagels right outside the elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay at the St Louis Union Station Hotel. There are great eateries in the hotel, in Union Station itself, and around our location. It's great you got to experience the great food, location and architecture while you were visiting us! Again, we are very appreciative of your review and can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a meeting downtown, therefore decided to stay at this hotel. It is a decent hotel, however, parking is very far. The same parking lot is used for parking for the Ball Park, and if you stay there on a night there is a cardinals game on.. good luck with finding parking. You have to walk through a small mall to get to the check in desk. Rooms were of decent size, the fixtures in the bathroom were old and loose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. I do want to follow-up on your parking problems. The Union Station DoubleTree offers valet parking at our main Market Street entrance and discounted parking rates right next door at Market and 20th Street for self parking. Because of our location, we do not share parking with the Ballpark. I apologize if you received the wrong information and I would love to follow-up further if you're available! Again, thank you for your review and staying at the Union Station Hotel. We would love to welcome you back with 5 star service and a warm DoubleTree cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#49 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.