We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Randy is the best!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STL Cardinals Tickets
Ranked #27 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Randy is the best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for around 20 years for an annual event. Although the name has changed 4 times, Randy has always been there to welcome you back.
He seems to always remember the guests and has good staff working around him.
The hotel rooms are fairly warn down (across the bridge), but the lobby boasts the best "networking" venue for a conference in the country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Randy really is the best! It's nice to see a familiar face when you arrive, and he makes you feel welcomed and honestly remembers you from previous visits. I'm glad you enjoyed the breathtaking Grand Hall, too; tts history and atmosphere are great! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    379
    218
    105
    45
See reviews for
353
258
58
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is ok, but not worth the $$. Worst Hilton I have ever stayed. The mall attached is nearly empty and unsafe especially at night. Tried to go walking there and and was approached but people asking to use my phone. There are high wrought iron gates on every floor so you have to use your card to get from lobby to rooms, so people from mall can't get to rooms! Workout area in IN THE MALL and is enclosed by glass so everyone can see you . Plus, you have to go through a small dark hallway in the mall to get to it! ONE restaurant in the mall and the man couldn't speak English! Hotel staff are nice, but workers started POUNDING & scraping on the room next door at 9 am. Sounded like they were in the room, so I can't imagine if you had someone staying there. The tv channels are awful and they have very few choices. I would NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback,

I am terribly sorry that you didn’t feel safe in the Station and I am also disappointed that our staff chose to work in an adjoining room SO EARLY knowing the next room was occupied. I will investigate this afternoon and address with our Chief Engineer. The improvements for Union Station are already beginning. Security of the station is at the forefront with plans to modify availability of the mall, putting under-age curfews in place for non-hotel guests, and even consideration to segregate the mall more distinctly from the hotel. I apologize also that the gothic security gates were an inconvenience. We find that most our guests appreciate knowing mall patrons cannot reach guest room floors. I’m excited to announce a partnership with Charter has almost been finalized creating an entire new Television line-up in the weeks to come! After we are finished with our improvements we do hope you’ll come see just how wonderful it is to stay in an historic building, now over 117 years old. I do recommend our Station Grille for dining as well; I haven’t found a restaurant more consistent with better staff in most of St. Louis.

Warmest Regards,

Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has amazing visual structures and everyone was very accommodating to our every need. The restaurant, bar and check in process was impressive. I highly recommend staying here anytime you are in St. Louis.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear you were impressed by our restaurant, The Station Grille, Grand Hall Bar and the smooth check-in process. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and we extend our welcome anytime you're in St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here unaware that mardi gras was being celebrated.. Drunk people and police kept us up most of the night. We are hilton honors members and have never had such a terrible stay. At one point a police officer came to our door to see if a drunk guy w our room number written on his arm belonged to us. It was 4am. What a rotten night! We even called the front desk and their only comment was that the police were there.... Awful. The place is ancient and has some nice decor in the lobby areas but it is not safe to walk through many parts of the building that have been turned into a very cheap and seedy mall with no name-brand stores.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback,

Mardi Gras, Mardi Gras…. I am so terribly sorry about the timing of your visit. As you witnessed, Mardi Gras in St. Louis is an exhibition for today’s youth. St. Louis is now considered the 2nd largest Mardi Gras celebration behind only New Orleans and unfortunately every St. Louis Hotel pays the price. As I understand it, we adjusted off the charges for your stay once you shared this information with us. I would be happy to invite you back for another weekend on my dollar—If you read the rest of our Trip Advisor comments you’ll see that we have a wonderful staff paired with a beautiful hotel. I suggest any weekend this year except for the following: St. Patrick’s Day, 4th of July, most Cards/Cubs weekends, and New Years Eve. All of these weekends tend to get lively Downtown. Please contact me if I may have the opportunity to show you the experience the St. Louis Union Station Hotel – A DoubleTree by Hilton is now known for.

Warmest Regards,

Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemont, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel mostly because of its proximity to the Scottrade Center. It is about 2 blocks from the entrance, which, for us, is a huge priority when concert-going.
Let's get this over with....yes, the neighborhood isn't as great as some downtown venues we have been to. But, for a weekend away from home, with a concert as our main objective, this was a GREAT HOTEL!
The staff was friendly, helpful, welcoming, competent. Our room was immaculate, and fairly large. The decor is great within the room, and absolutely breathtaking in the public areas.
Breakfast in the Union Grille was wonderful...omlets made to order, and all kinds of standard buffet items were fine. We went across the street and down a block to dinner at Lombardos Trattoria----some of the best food I have EVER had, and I am a foodie.
Stay here if you are visiting downtown St Louis for an event. It is also just minutes away from the Budweiser tour, which you need to do too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Union Station, had a delicious breakfast and a great interaction with our staff. Our location is centrally located for downtown activities, concerts at Scottrade and an easy drive to the Budweiser tours! Thank you again for the kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel was very clean and staff extremely friendly. Rooms were roomy and good bathroom space. Disappointed with the hours of stores within the union station mall. Good food at Laundry's and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Union Station Hotel. We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us. Our rooms are very spacious and we truly pride ourselves on our great staff. They truly care about each guest! The location is also close to many great dining experiences, and you chose a great one with Landry's. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff is so friendly and welcoming! Our air conditioner in our room was not working! They move us to another room! All around great stay! Won't stay anywhere else! Awesome breakfast! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review!! I apologize that the air unit in your room wasn't working, but am glad to hear they easily solved the problem with a new room. The breakfast in Station Grille really is yummy and I'm glad you liked it! We hope to welcome you back to St. Louis soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 1820 Market St, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#46 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Union Station - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.