We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza and salads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dewey's Pizza

Dewey's Pizza
559 N And South Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63130-3920
314-726-3434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,549 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great pizza and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

another great choice in st louis for good pizza and salads. they try to make these a little on the unique side. you will not be disappointed

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    41
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creative pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Dewey's is a family favorite. We do take out mostly. i also use it as a good location for a business lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We go to Dewey's two times a month. The girls love watching the kitchen throw the pizza in the air and pull them out of the oven. The pizza is always pleasing, probably the best hand tossed crust around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Pizza but Not My Favorite in St. Louis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I really like Deweys. I always have a good experience here. I like the unique ingredients on the menu and several of their specialty pizzas. Their salads are good too. The service is always good and the place is usually buzzing w/ people so it gives off a good vibe. My 5 year old son always gets a kick out of them hand tossing the pizza dough. I can't think of any other place in St. Louis that does that. If your looking for good hand tossed pizza, this is your place in St. Louis. However, Pi remains our favorite pizza in St. Louis.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“As good as it gets...for St. Louis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Honestly, I can't understand everybody ranting and raving about this place. Don't get me wrong, its good pizza, its worth eating, but I don't give 5 * for "good" pizza. If you don't like provel cheese (the St. Louis staple processed cheese) then this place is pretty good. Honestly, St. Louis is littered with so many "provel on cardboard" merchants that this place seems deceivingly amazing in comparison.

My opinion, its average pizza with a huge selection of toppings. Most other cities in the United States are not burdened with the intense love of a cheese that belongs on burgers, not pizzas, hence competition among pizza chains requires truly delicious pizza. Here, in St Louis, Dewey's may be a beacon for some, but for me its just ok.

Let's be clear on the rating scale so everyone understands, Little Caesar's = Poor Pizza, Papa John's = Below Average Pizza, Dewey's = Average Pizza. Excellent pizza is hard to define, it is different for everyone, but Dewey's is a slightly fancier version of Papa John's with a huge topping and sauce list.

I have always had good service at Dewey's but honestly I never rate a restaurant on its service, one bad day for a bad server is not a reason to punish a restaurant unless service consistently stinks. The salads are average, but nothing to rant and rave about. I will say that the salad portions are huge, so don't be afraid to split a small salad between a few people.

Dewey's will not be that pizza you long for years later when you leave St. Louis. I long for Due Ponti in Spoleto, Italy. My wife longs for Buddy's from Detroit. My neighbor brings home frozen pizzas from Gino's East in Chicago. Dewey's is not that place and will never capture a person's pizza loving heart.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey's Pizza also viewed

Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Dewey's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.