We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Recipes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Peruvian Cuisine

Mango Peruvian Cuisine
1101 Lucas Ave, Saint Louis, MO (Downtown)
3146219993
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mango Peruvian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2,524 restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: South American, Peruvian, Fusion, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 11th
Transit: Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.
Dodgeville
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Creative Recipes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Mango Peruvian Cuisine serves well-prepared and creative dishes with a Peruvian flare.
Its atmosphere was overall, good, but some tables are in drafty locations and others
are too loud. Service was more than attentive; sometimes I would rather have a dish in front
of me as the last forkful of food enters my mouth. I split two seafood dishes. Both were fresh and tasty with a little heat in the spice department. If you would like to try some new well-designed dishes, Mango is a fine choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    104
    53
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome cocktails and desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our second visit to Mango. In May, my husband and I were alone on a trip. This visit we had our 13 and 11 year old daughters. We had the same waiter, Patrick, on both visits. He is both friendly and helpful about making dining choices. It is Peruvian, but some of the dishes are more traditional than others. Many of the flavors and ingredients are similar to the flavors you will find in the Caribbean. Definitely try the Aji de Gallina. I believe that it is one of the traditional Peruvian dishes. It is a little spicy and has the rich flavors of a slow cooked meal.

Absolutely have a cocktail and dessert. I hate beer so I order cocktails when dining out. I have only had 2 cocktails at Mango, but they are 2 of the best cocktails I have ever had. They were dangerous--an expert blend of alcohol and mixers. You could taste the alcohol, but it didn't leave you with that burn of strong liquor in the back of your throat. I had a Crackberry and a South American Daiquiri. Both were slightly sweet, but not syrupy. The flavors of the mixers perfectly complimented the alcohol.

Despite being full, my family and I consumed 3 desserts--a sponge cake, a chocolate torte, and a plantain dish--in record time. If forced to choose, I would pick the chocolate torte as my favorite, but all were incredible. The cakes were moist. The accompanying sauces for the sponge cake were flavorful and not overpowering. The ice cream with the plantains had enough flavor to compliment the plantain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Great Find - Solid Food & Nice Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Worth checking out this place on your next trip to St. Louis. Very attentive service, good food (though I did have the Happy Hour Bar menu). Great drinks, and awesome atmosphere.

Nice find in St. Louis which didn't seem to have many good restaurants downtown.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TOP SCHELF...FOOD, DRINK, AND ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Mango on a Saturday night. we weren't real sure what to expect with Peruvian food. Wow! Everything we ordered was spectacular. The empanadas, the amazing chicken soup, pasta with huge shrimp, even the salad was a notch above most salads. And the Mango Mojitos were awesome as well. Nice location just off the busy area of the Loft district. Had a great seat at the window, Fun place....great bar too. We definitely will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must "eat" in Saint Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I are always up for trying new restaurants and this one did not disappoint. From the second that we walked in, the service was outstanding. The server took the time to explain the menu which helped in ordering. The portions are large, so we split an appetizer and also the aji de Gallina. We called it "Peruvian Comfort Food". We have been back numerous times and try and take friends or family with us each visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Peruvian Cuisine also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Mango Peruvian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Peruvian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.