We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Peruvian Cuisine

Mango Peruvian Cuisine
1101 Lucas Ave, Saint Louis, MO (Downtown)
3146219993
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mango Peruvian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,549 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: South American, Peruvian, Fusion, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 11th
Transit: Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We found Mango online and decided to give it a go. What a surprise! The restaurant was easily accessible, considering the Cardinals game has just ended and there was a Rams game going on. The food was delicious, especially the shrimp. We ordered multiple hot plates to share, and that was probably the best way to go.

Their drink menu has lots to offer, and if you check in using Foursquare you can get a free glass of their Sangria.

If you're into Peruvian, or want an adventure, this is definitely a place to try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    63
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from dinner here with our two teen children and I have never seen my son so sad as when he had finished his meal! I am a difficult vegetarian and the mushroom main that I had was truly yummy as were the mango mojitos. Our waitress was delightful and the service was attentive yet not obtrusive. Loved it- wish there was one in London!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are from London and we have been to some of the best restaurants there and this surpasses all of them. Starters were brilliant, main courses were brilliant, drinks were brilliant and so the deserts. We had a wonderful evening and I highly recommend Mango.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Didn't blow me away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The only thing that I really, really like here is the avocado stuffed with a veggie-salad mix. The flavor combinations just don't blow me away. It was an interesting experience, but I doubt I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Try the empanadas, delightful tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our first experience with Peruvian food, and WOW were we impressed. From the ceviche de Pescados, to the Yuca frita, to the empanadas, the Palta Rellena, and then we split the Aji de Gallina for our main dish. Fresh flavors, wonderful plantain chips with cilantro dip comes standard to every table. Such an interesting fusion of light, and spicy, creamy flavors. We really like this place, fun atmosphere, helpful wait staff advised us of her favorites and helped describe the dishes to us in more detail. I highly recommend if you are looking for something out of the ordinary, love fresh tasting food, and are ready to try all the little tapas dishes! Good stuff! We will be back on our next visit to STL.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Peruvian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Mango Peruvian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Peruvian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.