We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons or Fleur De Lys?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur-De-Lys Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleur-De-Lys Mansion
Save
You added Fleur-De-Lys Mansion to your Saves list
3500 Russell Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Fall,Winter Rates
Ranked #1 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Four Seasons or Fleur De Lys?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

During our second trip to St louis, we decided to "hotel hop" and stayed at the Fleur De Lys (our second stay), The Four Seasons hotel and the Westin (both firsts), and 2 different Hilton properties (we are long-time Hilton Honors members). I won't make this long. Believe me when I say that this place CAN'T BE BEAT for the combination of its charm (the attention and the warmth of the people is unbeatable, and frankly you don't get that anywhere else), the ambiance (the house is incredibly beautiful and well-appointed (the brandy in the parlor and the Jacuzzi spa are particularly sweet), and the romantic charm that's particular to most B&Bs. This place has it all! Loved the homemade cookies!!!!! Love how the home feels like its your own! Love the warm smile from Jan and the attention from Vicky. I could go on and on, but I'd be remiss if I did not mention 2 more things. 1) The coordination during check-in and the special care we got was tremendous (we called from the airport b/c our flight had arrived early and I wanted to get some work done (VPN from my laptop using the free wi-fi).... NO PROBLEM. Vicky hooked it up so we could let ourselves in with NO ONE at the house, then later came up to greet us with our room key. OUTSTANDING. 2) I left behind a pair of swim trunks and just got them in the mail 2 days ago since we could not find the time to stop by and pick them up. I also had to print my timesheet. No problem! For us, it was truly an unbeatable experience (even as nice as the Four Seasons was)! 2 more things: I also loved the fact that they have nice TVs in the rooms without making it the centerpiece (the beds are the real draw)! The fridge upstairs and the snacks is also a wonderful touch. Very CLASSY all the way around. A real gem.

Room Tip: During our first stay, we chose Reservoir park and on our second stay, Botanical Gardens. Both beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
307
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay here for our first wedding anniversary. It will be difficult to top the experience for future anniversaries! The Fleur-De-Lys level of comfort and hospitality exceeded our expectations, and the breakfast was delicious. What a beautiful setting... and for a great price! We will be back, and we highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our two night stay at the mansion was absolutely wonderful! From the moment we walked up the steps to the mansion, we knew we were in for a treat. Upon entering the mansion we immediately noticed the elegant decor and colors and heard the soft, subtle sound of music playing in the background. We were greeted by Jan (one of the owners) who took the time to make us feel very comfortable and explained the history of the mansion while providing a tour. Our room was luxurious and the sheets were wonderful beyond description (we had to buy a set before leaving). Of course I couldn't provide a review without mentioning the delicious gourmet breakfast that we eagerly headed downstairs for each morning.

This was a wonderful place to stay and we will most definitely return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldwin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fleur-De-Lys is an oasis. We have met such wonderful people in St Louis, Mo. Jan and Dave and their wonderful colleague, Vickie. From the moment we stepped in the mansion, we were home. We got keys to the place, and moved right in for a couple of nights.
Wish we could have stayed longer, but know where to go if we travel through St Louis again. They have the innkeeper thing going on...the rooms are exemplary. The sheets are amazing...had to buy some! You really are pampered at this inn. They are so friendly and helpful. Truly...they are like wonderful family. They tend to your every need. The breakfasts are unbelievable. You will be stuffed with all things wonderful. The smoothies are glorious. You must buy the cookbook. Their bacon is sinful...delicious. You eat off china plates. You will be pampered. Why on earth would you stay anywhere else in St Louis?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Fleur-De-Lys twice now, and each stay has been superb. Everything about the mansion is perfect, from the building and amenities to the beautiful owners who make you feel like you're visiting family for the weekend.

We cannot recommend the Fleur-De-Lys high enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I write this review as I relax in the beautiful kingsize bed in the Tower Grove Suite of the Fleur-De-Lys Mansion. This is our fourth and last night and my husband and I are both very disappointed to be leaving such a luxurious home away from home. We've been travelling around parts of the US for almost five weeks now and have experienced many Bed and Breakfast accommodations along the way which have all been fantastic with a few slight exceptions. However, we honestly cannot fault the Fleur-De-Lys Mansion or our hosts, Jan and Dave Seifert. On arrival, we were welcomed with open arms by Jan who gave us the grand tour. I couldn't believe the little extras included in our stay. Not only is there a bar fridge stacked with soft drinks, snacks and an ice machine just outside our room, there is also another very well equipped cupboard just down the hall full of all those personal necessities you may have forgotten to pack or are too tired to run out and buy because you've checked in late. Well, there's no need to worry, Jan has it covered. There is no shortage of complimentary personal items on hand. You'll find dental floss picks, toothpaste, toothbrushes, cotton balls, cotton buds (Q-Tips), combs, hairspray, even contact lens solution and I still haven't covered everything! We met Dave the next morning at breakfast and he was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and the best hamburger places in town (my husband has a thing for hamburgers). Dave and Jan have a sense of humour not unlike our own and we had a lot of fun with them during our stay. Then, of course, there's Vicky, their Assistant, who is a very genuine, bubbly, lighthearted person and boy can she cook! As we made our way downstairs each morning for breakfast the aromas that drifted upwards from the kitchen were mouthwatering, to say the least. Vicky was extremely efficient and assisted us on more than one occasion without the slightest hesitation. The Mansion itself is absolutely stunning and full of history and character. Each room has its own unique glamour and ambience. The Wifi connection was problem-free which is important to us as we like to keep in touch with family and friends from home during our travels. I could truly go on forever about the Fleur-De-Lys Mansion and how comfortable, well equipped, well located and clean (did I mention how soft the linen is and how fluffy and fragrant the towels are) but you really should experience it for yourself. So, if you're staying in St Louis don't stay in a hotel, stay at the Fleur-De-Lys Mansion and experience first class service with first class hosts. Thank you so much Dave, Jan and Vicky! We'll definitely tell all our Aussie friends about you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower Grove Suite but I saw the other rooms and they're all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having never written a review before (not due to bad experiences, mind you, but more procrastination and/or forgetfulness on our part), our experience with the Fleur De Lys Mansion was so impressive and wonderful that we finally have broken our bad habits and sat down to rave about the incredible amenities that we had bestowed upon us. Another first for us was staying at a B&B. Always having been prone to book a room in a familiar-named hotel, we wanted our 30 yr anniversary to be extra special so we ventured outside the norm and used TripAdvisor as our guide to book with this highly recommended establishment. Avid review readers, we could not find a bad review in any form; however, being "B&B newbies", we wondered just how great it could really be..."Would it feel like we were intruding in someone's home? Would it be strange sharing an intimate dining room with other guests? Would it be private and secure?" We cannot express how fast the worries vanished the minute we walked through the door. Vickie (manager) greeted us with a welcoming smile and professionalism that put us completely at ease. She presented us with a tour of the house and its history, which is gorgeous, spotless and has an old world charm that we instantly loved. The Reservoir Room we enjoyed was outstanding. Jan and Dave (owners) are above and beyond in their graciousness, warmth and courtesy. We bonded with them immediately and felt as though we were staying with family members (the kind you WANT to be around!). Jan is fantastically kind and delightfully funny, and her and Vickie whipped up some of the most delicious breakfasts we've ever eaten. Dave is a terrific conversationalist and takes great pride in their home and its gardens, which shows in all the beautiful surroundings. They became our tour guides, informing us of all the surrounding sites and making suggestions on places to eat (Charlie Gitto's...O.M.G.)...never steering us wrong. And when the time came to leave, with a copy of their spectacular cookbook in hand, we vowed to come back again (hoping for Christmas time to see all the beautiful decorations). Booking with this phenomenal B&B instead of our standard "go to" hotel room, along with finally a review that is SO well deserved, are habits we're glad we finally broke. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleur-De-Lys Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur-De-Lys Mansion

Address: 3500 Russell Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleur-de-Lys Mansion, Luxury Inn at the Park, recognized for intimate warmth, luxury and exceptional hospitality, is a meticulously restored turn-of-the-century Mansion. With timeless elegance, The Fleur-de-Lys is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Located in Historic Compton Heights, there are an abundance of fine dining and quaint restaurants, beautiful, historic parks and numerous entertainment venues nearby. Easily accessible and centrally located, just minutes away from many St. Louis attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fleur-De-Lys Mansion Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur-De-Lys Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.