We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new but cramped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4630 Lindell Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63108 (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Central West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and new but cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was recently renovated and you could tell the existing building was old. But they did a good job of gutting it and remodeling it to make it modern. However the old building was tight and cramped, and so is this one a little bit.

The hotel was very clean and nice since everything is pretty new. My room was nice and clean, but it was definitely a bit small and cramped for my taste. The bed took up most of the room.

The bathroom also had a pedestal style sink with no room to put anything more on there except a toothbrush. So you'll have to store toiletries and towels elsewhere. They even put the soap and towels and stuff in the closet. Shower was also quite cramped, but I don't fault the hotel for not having space to work with here.

But those are minor complaints. The staff was very friendly and I had a quiet room that was well maintained and clean. Besides the tight room and stuff it was a good stay and a fair price.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was making a college visit with my son to SLU and wanted to stay nearby at Holiday Inn Express. This newly renovated property was just the place. Quiet, even though in an urban setting, very friendly staff, great breakfast. Check out the pancake machine! Even had gluten-free bagels. Excellent fruit, oatmeal and greek yoghurt selection. Only issue was the smaller bathroom for my 6 ft 2 in. son but not really a problem. Nice selection of channels on the TV. On site reasonably priced parking.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This room was everything you could want...clean, quiet, great location and price! Would stay here again. The staff was really friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was good too. The towels were so soft I want to know where I can buy them.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, the color schemes and room layout are just lovely to boot! I also just want to say thumbs up to John to at the front desk he was kind, helpful and had a great sense of humor! The breakfast staff was also very kind and helpful and the breakfast assortment was great for a hotel!
This was one of the cleaner hotels I've stayed and my husband and I have decided we will frequent this hotel again when in the area!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom very clean and neatly appointed. Nice walk in shower (albeit a bit small for two). The towels were so soft! The bed was so comfy! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I think it has been newly remodeled as the carpet is lovely and so are the walls. It is in the perfect location for visiting all the sights at Forest Park and the rate was decent. Also, they have a secure underground parking deck that is easy to access, and an elevator to access the inside hotel.

Room Tip: There is no ice on the first floor - only on second and third. Also, no coke machines, just lobby sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

5 stars based on room and service and PRICE, and terrific location. For the money, it was great. Nicely appointed. Bath small, but more shelf space and towel space then much larger baths in other hotels. Shower not small or short (I'm 5'8", spouse 6'), and very nice. Staff helpful. Double room about the size of doubles in other mid-class hotels. Again, lots of "deck" space for luggage, etc. A perfectly fine hotel... not "luxury", but neither was the price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We spent a night at this Holiday Inn Express and really enjoyed our experience. The entire property has recently been renovated and it shows. Everything around the hotel has a modern touch, and while not a requirement for us, was nice. I am an IHG Rewards Club member and the hotel met all of my expectations for any Holiday Inn Express I would stay at. Our room was comfortable and clean, the complementary breakfast was well stocked, hot, and pretty tasty, and the underground parking garage was convenient and well-lit.

The best part of our experience was the staff. The young woman who worked the front desk from morning to mid-afternoon and the young man who worked the front desk from mid-afternoon to around 11:00pm were both fantastic. They were both friendly, professional, and very helpful the times we talked to them about navigating the area. I wish I had written down their names, to give them direct recognition here but didn't, but I hope management realizes who they are and recognizes the great people they have. They made our stay above and beyond nice, new renovations and good night's sleep.

In general, the area around the hotel is very nice. It is within walking distance of Barnes-Jewish Hospital,Washington University Medical Center, and Forest Park which means there are plenty of places to eat, people out and about day and night, convenient bus stops, and a Metrolink station about 8 blocks away. I think the next time we come into town for a Blues game, we'll pay this hotel another visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay in the area or as an alternative to downtown, but who still wants to be close by. Don't believe the bad reviews, they're exaggerations. No place is perfect, but for a non-luxury hotel they do a good job here.

Room Tip: They have balcony rooms that are a nice touch, especially on a sunny day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End

Address: 4630 Lindell Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63108 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Central West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Central West End St. Louis at the Holiday Inn Express - St. Louis Central West End, MO. Central West End was named one of Top 10 Great Neighborhoods in America by the American Planning Association! We are neighbors to the world famous St. Louis Zoo. Our location in the walkable Central West End of St. Louis places you steps away from a variety of shops, restaurants and lounges. Explore Forest Park's golf and tennis courses and museums. Your Morning Express Start(R) Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express - St. Louis Central West End the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including our pancake machine cranking out fresh hot pancakes to order! You HAVE to experience the deliciousness! Guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, desk, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Some rooms offer a balcony overlooking the beautifully landscaped courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central West End Hotel Saint Louis
Best Western Saint Louis
Saint Louis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Central West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.