We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty, great value and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant

Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
3210 S Grand Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63118-1014 (Tower Grove)
314-772-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 2,590 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Neighborhood: Tower Grove
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Tower Grove
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very tasty, great value and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I actually eat here for lunch on a regular basis and there's a good reason - the food is delicious. I do seem to order the same thing - Special chicken tibs and the side dishes it comes with - lentels, chick peas - all prepared with delicious spices. Come hungry because it is also very filling. I also enjoy the friendly service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st louis, mo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always delicious, welcoming, and an adventure in food flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Meskerem is one of our favorite restaurants in Saint Louis. The first time we went there, we ordered the veggie platter for one to share. The flavors were so addictive that we could not get it out of our minds and ended up going back there the next day for the same thing. They let us customize the veggie platter to suit our tastes (we really like the green beans and the miser alecha), which keeps the experience personal and keeps us coming back. Three years later and we still enjoy it every time.
The wait staff talks about the restaurant as if it is their family. The owners of Meskerem are kind to their customers and to the community, even to the point of walking me to my car one night after dark.
This restaurant is a jewel for so many reasons, and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not so happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was in St. Louis for a weekend with eight of my friends and we decided to have Ethiopian food coz we all ethiopian. The moment we walked in the place had bad smell and no AC. The food was ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Injera on South Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Nice clean restaurant on the trendy South Grand strip near Tower Grove Park. They have an impressive menu with a lot of choices. If you’re not sure what to try, get the vegetarian and meat combination platters, it’s an excellent way of trying a bit of everything. The Ethiopian tea is also excellent.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I found out that I really like Ethiopian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I found out that I really like Ethiopian food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.