We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Franco in Soulard is a tip top choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franco

Franco
1535 South Eighth, Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Soulard)
314-436-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Franco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Soulard
Cross street: Carroll Street
Transit: Metrolink at Busch Stadium is only a 10 min walk north from us. This makes us an ideal place to eat real food before or after the game.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Franco in Soulard is a tip top choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Met with friends last night at Franco. Since they picked the restaurant (one I had never heard of), I was not sure what to expect. This French restaurant, located on South Eighth Street (across from the Soulard Market), is housed in a converted warehouse. Designers did a terrific job of keeping the decor simple and not packing the tables too closely together. The "open" layout works well and the place was busy, but did not look packed like sardines.

On to the food: We were pleasantly surprised with the variety on the menu. Franco's menu featured a nice balance of appetizers, soups, and salads for starters (I can attest to the excellent French onion soup!). Past that, the main courses - one each for chicken, pork, fish, seafood, beef, lamb, vegetarian - were interesting combinations. Our waiter was terrific at answering our many questions, and at our table nearly every entree was ordered by someone. Desserts included a number of delicious offerings as well.

There is no question we would go back to Franco and try one of the other delectable dishes!

Tip: If you have a group, I would definitely call in advance. The small separate room (where our group was located) was great because it allowed us to all participate in a conversation without bothering other diners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unexpected and Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I met a friend at Franco for a late dinner on the last night of a business trip. Even though I'm from out-of-town, it was easy to find from the downtown area. The restaurant is in Soulard, in part of an old shoe factory, right across the street from the Soulard Farmers Market. Honestly, it doesn't look like much from outside, but inside it's stunning. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. Very upscale, with an unusual items on the menu.

Franco is highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was quite partial to the decor and music here. The wait staff match the restaurant. The cheese and fruit appetizer was great, as was the entrees. The waiter could have explained the specials a little better and also had no sense of urgency. Mother than that it was great

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A rare find next to the Soulard Farmers Market.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

In a former factory, this is one of the most quietly elegant restaurants in town. My only regret is that we went prior to the theatre and did not allow enough time for dessert. I can only ditto the comments written on the YELP site. The French Onion soup was fabulous. My husband's shellfish dish was excellent. Our host shared his escargot with us and honestly, it was so good that we ordered more hot bread to 'sop' up the sauce. My steak was the best ever.

This is a sophisticated, quiet restaurant--we didn't see any children--that really hits the mark with soft sophistication and absolutely outstanding care from out server. We will return again--hopefully in the future we'll allow time for the dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's unique the minute you walk in the door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Rated one of the top new restaurants in St. Louis when it opened, Franco has continued to be a food lover's vacation from the ordinary. With a dynamic menu, the chef can really take the patron down a French inspired evening. Franco is perfect for a romantic dinner under candlelight, a catch-up with an old friend in a window sill seat or a group dinner in the private room.

Start with the pomme frites and go from there, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco also viewed

Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Franco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.