We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2007 Park Ave., Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Lafayette Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

Amazing service, stay and company. The mansion has amazing architecture and has been fully remodeled. The chef cooks with the freshest ingredients, some of which you can smell walking through her garden before you even get to the doors. Great view from our room of the arch. Awesome Neighborhood, huge park next door. Chocolate bar, brewery, best BBQ in America..on and on.

Happy newlyweds

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Joseph, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We’ve stayed here twice and had great experiences both times.

The rooms are very comfortable and attractive; nicely furnished without clutter. They have all the important amenities. The baths are spacious and well lit. Everything is spotless. Their garden is a delight. It’s a real urban oasis and a wonderful place to relax; secluded, beautiful and soothing.

The location is fantastic. It is convenient to downtown, the Soulard Market and many great restaurants. The neighborhood is delightful and you are located right across the street from Lafayette Square Park which is a great place to stroll, jog or just hang out.

The breakfasts are excellent; interesting, creative and delicious. The portions are ample without being excessive. The smoothies…well to die for.

Mike and Kathy are wonderful hosts; friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, fun and interesting. They are as committed to their city and neighborhood as they are to their business. They have an inspirational enthusiasm for both what they are doing and where they are doing it.

Be sure to try the Gooey Butter Cake at Park Avenue Coffee (a great coffee shop) just a half block to the east.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful mansion in Lafayette Square!! Delightful hosts, incredible food, gorgeous gardens, and walking distance to shops and great restaurants. If you want to experience excellence at it's finest, don't miss this gem! I'll be visiting again soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

As a frequent patron of B&Bs in the US and Canada, I've stayed at B&Bs that ranged from horrible to absolutely splendid. I would rate The Park Avenue Mansion as absolutely splendid. Mike and Kathy overlook no detail. The gardens and the courtyard are as beautiful as the inside of the home. The entrance to the home is breath-taking. The entire home is tastefully decorated without being over-done or garish. The home is impeccably clean. Mike and Kathy are very friendly, down to earth people. They epitomize what innkeepers should be. I will definitely stay here, again. (The only one thing I would recommend is offering some pastries with breakfast.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Lovely room but be prepared for the steep stairs to the top floors. Not for disabled or elderly guests. It was incredibly hot outside so we didn't really get much sleep as the air conditioning was very load, maybe not a problem for guests used to air-con but not for British travelers?? We had to leave early (8ish) the next morning but as the proprietor, Kathy, was unwell, our request for earlier breakfast couldn't be met. We left after having to make our own coffee and getting no breakfast but still had to pay full price.

Room Tip: The Room with a View has a view of the Arch, just, but be prepared for those stairs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is a MUST stop and stay for anyone stopping in the St. Louis area. Mike and Kathy, the owners, have restored this beautiful home in such a fantastic way! We booked all five rooms for the weekend with our friends & family so we got to see all the rooms. They were each gorgeous in their own way. Our suite was the best though, jaccuzzi is adorned in marble & soft lights. Each room has its own private bathroom! Mike & Kathy were very open to us coming & going/also hanging out in the house & garden to visit. The garden was my favorite! It has been landscaped in beautiful stone & plants as well as fountains. So cool to be in the middle of the city and not know it! The meals Kathy makes are not only works of art to look at but they tasted fantastic! We were ALL so completely happy with this B&B!!!! We highly recommend this for all occassions! Our wedding was our reason, and they made it so much more special than it already was! We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I recently stayed here two nights in the smallest room, Room with a View. The room was very quiet and nicely appointed. I appreciated the pretzel snack left in the room, since my flight arrived late and I had only grabbed a burger in the airport before my flight. The furnishings of the mansion are luxurious, and the linens were wonderful.

Breakfasts were very fancy, two-course meals. They were also very tasty. There is a lovely garden with multiple fountains where you can enjoy coffee in before breakfast is served. The one criticism I have of the inn is that coffee wasn't available until 8 am. I am a dedicated coffee drinker who was on eastern time, so it seemed like 9 am to my internal clock. This was no big deal though, since there is a great neighborhood coffee shop (with a fantastic selection of locally beloved "gooey butter cake") in the next block.

The hosts Michael and Kathy are very hospitable. They have interesting stories about the house and the neighborhood and the city to share.

The house is in a beautiful and convenient location, right across from a large park. St. Louis is an amazingly friendly city with lots of sites to visit.

I recommend the inn to couples or people in town for business who'd like a quiet, elegant place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2007 Park Ave., Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many time award winner, we offer true Victorian Elegance, Romantic Charm and Gracious Hospitality. Relaxing and Inviting Common Areas, Suites and Guests Chambers. Perfect for the romantic getaway or business trip. Extensive In-house concierge services, aromatherapy and/or Rheiki sessions, all specially designed to pamper our guests every desire. Come to the Park Avenue Mansion to see why we have been voted the best romantic Inn so many times. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.