We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5650 Oakland Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #3 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was just great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

What's funny is that we stayed at a similarly located hotel a year ago that was awful and this hampton was *wonderful*. The staff was really kind to my 7 year old son one morning at breakfast when he wanted something that wasn't there. The coffee is good and is always available. The facilities were clean, easy to access and the whole building it just trendy looking. The room was easy to navigate, clean and the wireless signal was strong in our room on the third floor.

The location for this property is incredible. It's about a minute or so drive to the zoo, just down the road from the science center and a 10 minute drive from the Delmar area. Everything seemed really close. There's even a couple of places to eat close, though our family ate at the restaurant connected to the hotel and we were unimpressed.

Parking was good during the couple of days we were there and is close. The two breakfasts we had were great and the staff were on top of keeping the food there and I even noticed that they had baggies for people who were leaving for activities that day.

The TV in the room looked like it'd gotten recently replaced with a sizeable flat screen.

All in all, great stay and we are thankful for being at a hotel where we left refreshed from.

Honestly, it was

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Petejuvin;

Thank you so much for staying with Hampton Inn & Suites Forest Park! We Love Having You Here!

We appreciate all feedback and do read all comments and take them to heart when evaluating how to improve.

Thank you for the nice comments on how clean, trendy, & easily accessible our property is. We have recently installed our flat panel TV's and went HD in June! We are pleased the complimentary wireless provided a strong signal on the third floor. We are improving that, as well, this month.

We do have a new breakfast hostess and I am proud to hear that she accommodated your 7yr old's needs, one morn, and that we are keeping that area well stocked.

Please return, park in our complimentary / close parking lot, and enjoy another stay with us VERY SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    124
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
236
69
27
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I love Hamptons! You really can't go wrong with them! Our of all the limited service hotels they have the beat breakfast! The host here is one of the nicest I have meet!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Omghotel;

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your review on Trip Advisor. We read all comments and certainly use them when evaluating changes / additions, etc. for our property.

It sounds like you are a true Hampton fan and it is greatly appreciated! Are you a member of HHonors - our rewards program? If not, you may want to look into it! It is a great program and we are the only brand that allows you to "double dip".

Thrilled that you enjoy our Hot on the House breakfast and that our new hostess made you feel "at home". That is what we strive for. And, remember, if you don't have time to dine - you can always grab a bag on your way out.

We hope you choose us on your next travels to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in St. Louis. It is located across the street from the zoo and several other attractions. Located blocks from The Hill; an Italian neighborhood with a good many restaurants.

The pool was warm, so we spent every night in the pool. The business center computers worked great as did the wireless in our room.

The air conditioner in our room would randomly switch to heat waking us up to stifling heat in our room. But the front desk staff promptly refunded our money for those nights...without even being asked...and were very apologetic.

Good breakfast, quiet room. All around great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Kralon20;

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do read them all and take all comments into consideration when trying to make things better for our guests.

We are happy that you found our location a good fit for the St. Louis sites. Glad that you could enjoy the pool, during your stay, and utilize our business center and complimentary WIFI.

I am pleased that our staff met your expectations, especially when you were not satisfied with the heat / air in your room. Remember - we always offer our 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Please come back and enjoy another Hot on the House Breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I booked a room for me and two kids for the weekend of April 16 and 17th, 2011. Then some plans fell through, and I had to bring my daughter with us too. So our whole family of 5 was planning on staying in this hotel for the night. I figured she could squeeze in with her brothers, or sleep on a sleeping bag. However, when we arrived, the man at the counter asked if we'd be intersted in an upgrade to a suite for only $15 more. THE BEST $15 ever spent!!! WOW!! Really WOW!! This suite was big and spacious! It had a kitchenette, a bathtub, seperate sink/vanity area. Refridgerator, 2 sinks, microwave with microwave popcorn, coffee maker with coffee and tea. It was NICE! 2 big queen beds with lots of pillows, and a pull out full size couch. Plenty of room!! We changed into swim suits and went to check out the pool. It was so clean!! It was beautiful! There were tables and chairs set up, towels down there, a bathroom inside the pool room (critical for those of us with small kids) a clean hot tub, and a few pool toys. The kids had a blast!! After our swim, we stopped at the little store area to get some milk for the kids before bed, however, there wasn't any milk for sale. I thought that was odd, and the staff at the counter heard me comment on it and the lady came over and said that milk was FREE!! Then she walked us over to the kitchen and poured each kid a cup of milk. Wonderful customer service!! When we got back to the suite, we called down for extra towels. They were at our door in less than 5 minutes. At bedtime, I was excited to see that the thermostat had a fan button. I was able to turn the fan on and provide white noise so the kids could fall alseep. It stayed on all night!! Everyone slept GREAT. I'm serious too. The very best night of sleep in a hotel ever, and this was with the KIDS!!! The next morning, there was a very good breakfast. Waffles, ham and eggs, breakfast potatoes, yogurt, bagels, cereal, pastries....very good! Then the kids wanted to swim one more time, so we headed back to the pool. A man that was working in the dining room saw us go in there, and came in with fresh towels for us! AMAZING!! We had a great stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone, but especially for those traveling to St. Louis with kids. This was a fantastic experience! The location here is great too. Less than 5 minutes to the zoo! Close to the arch, and Union Station. I can't recommend this hotel enough, and this is from one very critical mom! Hope you get to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed here for the ease in attending the St. Louis Science Center. (Great place to go, by the way!) It's either newer or nicely renovated because everything was very nice. Breakfast was packed in the morning, but they were quickly opening a conference center for additional seating and working extremely hard to keep everything stocked. I was impressed!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I was recently a guest at the hampton inn and suites at forest park... we had chosen to stay there since it was close to forest park and the mueums and not too far from the scottrade center where we were seeing the st louis blues play that evening.....I have to say this is one of the nicent hampton properties i have been to.... from the moment i arrived i was made to feel so welcome there... fresh made cookies and a smile is all i needed to say this is going to me one great stay.. and it was!... i had people greeitng me in the halls and even in the breaKfast area staff was asking if we needed anything.. very helpful staff...! they have a great pool and wonderful breakfast and just across the hotel is forest park, which consists of the zoo, the history museum and the art museum, which is all free admission and the wonderful scince center is right next door to the hotel... the park is also home to the MUNY, which is the largetst outdoor theater in the country..... so there is so much to do near this hotel and many great restaurants as well.... i was so pleased with my stay here.. !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My wife, 1 y/o son, and I had a really good 3 night stay at the Hampton. I was in town for a training course and the family came to enjoy a quick vacation. The location of the hotel is really nice although getting in and out can sometimes be difficult due to traffic, Hotel staff were great and helpful with the few small issues we had. The breakfast was really good and the staff working the breakfast were very friendly and hard working, keeping everything full and tidy. Free wifi in the room, free business center with free printing, free breakfast, and free parking.

Everything was very clean, from the lobby to the room. The room furnishings were modern and made for a very useful room. We did us the pool and that area was well kept and even had some toys for our little one to enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was 2 floor over the entry, poor privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park

Address: 5650 Oakland Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park is just minutes from popular attractions in the beautiful Forest Park area of St. Louis. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the St. Louis Zoo and just a couple miles from Washington University and St. Louis University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis At Forest Park
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis At Forest Park Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Forest Park
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.