We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Louis Art Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Louis Art Museum

Saint Louis Art Museum
1 Fine Arts Dr, Forest Park, Saint Louis, MO
+1 314-721-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“St. Louis Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

FREE, and a class collection. Particularly noteworthy is the European last 1800's Impressionists. Very grand building, and spectacularly quiet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    75
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is definitely the best art museum I've been to; there was way more than you could look at in just one day. And, the had a mix of literally everything; from Ancient times all the way through modern art, Grecian to Asian to Native American - everyone has something they'll enjoy here. It's crazy to be around things that are literally over a thousand years old - it's very humbling. My favorite part was the Ancient Egyptian mummies; although you could not see the bodies themselves, they had x-rays up and the sarcophagi were breathtaking. Wish I had more time and energy to walk through the place. And that's not to mention how pretty the building was on the outside. Must-see for St Louis.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice layout and great contemporary collection. Museum was very easy to navigate and every was most helpful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved the St. Louis art museum. It's free but parking is hard to find so we parked in the deck which is $15.00. Well worth it if you have young kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Art and Mummies!! And "always free."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am so glad we were able to visit the newly opened Art Museum this trip. I have so many memories of the hours spent wandering through its galleries. This new incarnation is wonderful, and I could have spent even longer than I did.

For the parking-challenged, park down below by the waterfall and walk up the hill. It's not that far and you won't be pulling out your hair. Everyone wants to park by the museum or the zoo, and it's just not worth the headaches...

As for the mummies... Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Louis Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.