We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Louis Art Museum

Saint Louis Art Museum
1 Fine Arts Dr, Forest Park, Saint Louis, MO
+1 314-721-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice layout and great contemporary collection. Museum was very easy to navigate and every was most helpful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    75
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved the St. Louis art museum. It's free but parking is hard to find so we parked in the deck which is $15.00. Well worth it if you have young kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Art and Mummies!! And "always free."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am so glad we were able to visit the newly opened Art Museum this trip. I have so many memories of the hours spent wandering through its galleries. This new incarnation is wonderful, and I could have spent even longer than I did.

For the parking-challenged, park down below by the waterfall and walk up the hill. It's not that far and you won't be pulling out your hair. Everyone wants to park by the museum or the zoo, and it's just not worth the headaches...

As for the mummies... Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful new addition -- great collections -- nice new restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The new addition to the Saint Louis Art Museum opened in late June and includes many pieces of art that have been in the collection, though, not on display for a long time.

There are wonderful galleries covering things that will be of interest to all members of a family. Be sure to stop by the information desk and pick up a map that also covers the new section

If you have membership in an art museum in another city, be sure to check if you have reciprocal membership benefits. It may help with your parking, any purchases you make in the gift shop -- an if there any any special exhibits at the time you visit, it may also help with admission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice Museum, Parking is a Pain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The museum is very nice and has a wonderful view of Forest Park. We spent a couple of hours there and really only made it through 1 floor. My young kids enjoyed it and were able to recognize some of the artists they talked about in their art class in school. There are plenty of workers there to answer any questions you might have and to inform you that you need to step back from the painting. The parking is absolutely the worst part about anything you do in Forest Park. The street parking always puts you a good distance away from where you are visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Louis Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.