We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One European Gallery Only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Louis Art Museum

Saint Louis Art Museum
1 Fine Arts Dr, Forest Park, Saint Louis, MO
+1 314-721-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One European Gallery Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The museum is free! It is worth a short visit. There are a few European masterworks (Van Gogh, Pissaro, Monet) in one small gallery, otherwise everything is so so. The collections are well displayed, the basement has some interesting furniture, but an hour is all you need here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    75
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Museum, and best of all...FREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very nice art museum. Has some of every art style and some great museum pieces. Monet to modern, Ming Vases to scrolls. Very nice!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I'm sure things will be better when the addition is done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice staff and very accomodating with the wheelchairs for our moms but to find a restroom required us to make arduous out of the way trips that shouldn't have take so much of our visit time. However, the art collection is a wonderful small city collection well worth the visit. Having taught about the George Caleb Bingham paintings for several years, to see them in person was amazing and I look forward to returing after their June 2013 addition opening!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Attaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you have the opportunity to visit St Louis, I highly recommend the art museum. I did not have enough time to tour the entire museum due to time constraints, I know that I could easily spend hours there. There are 3 levels with a new expansion coming in June 2013. I asked someone there and they said this add-on huge and would allow them to show even more artifacts that they have stored in the back. It it's current state the museum is 3 stories. I barely had enough time to finish the 1st level before I had to leave. They have a gift shop, several restrooms, snack bar, and many docents ready to answer questions. I look forward to continuing my visit next time!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Free Atraction to see in St. Louis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you like art (and history goes along with it) then you will love this!. Good for families, friends, or even by yourself. You can go at your own pace, take breaks and get a bite to eat there. So much to see that I rarely make it through all the way--have to make several trips a year (I like to go slow and take it all in).

New exhibits periodically. Nice gift shop. Beautiful building.

Parking is free, but hard to get on the weekends. Visit during the week if possible. Located within Forest Park in St. Louis.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Louis Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.