We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some ups and downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Folsom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Some ups and downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As you know the Residence Inns provide a room with a kitchen and a living room area. I walked into my room and it wasn't as clean as everyone mentions. There was trash from the previous guest in the kitchen trash bin. The carpet under the sink in the bathroom had obviously been missed by the vacumn. The clock in the room had been unplugged and needed resetting. I am a pretty smart person, but there were no instructions on how to reset the time. A nice young man came to help set the clock, and even he had an issue. The phone in the bedroom was stuck, so that when you picked up the receiver, it wouldn't give you a dial tone unless you messed with the handle. I was concerned that my wake up call wouldn't come through. I had the front desk call the room to make sure the call would come through. This hotel is NOT within walking distance of anything and is in a bad neighborhood. They do provide a shuttle service to local restuarants, almost 20 of them, and will pick you up prior to 10:30 p.m. They offer food onsite Monday through Wednesday at 6:00 p.m. I personally would appreciate the food service at 5:30 p.m. They have vending machines for purchase of microwavable meals and drinks. The staff was very accomodating and polite. Overall a good place to stay. I would just recommend a bit more attention to the room operations and cleanliness. Oh...one more thing, you can open the windows a bit, which allows in some fresh air!

Room Tip: I was in an end room on the 7th floor. It had a great view of downtown Saint Louis, but was right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    58
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
25
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Let me start by saying that the hotel is clean. The room was well appointed and the breakfast is what you would expect from a hotel of this type. I had no complaints about the hotel itself. What I had issue with was being woken up at 2:00 in the morning by the fire alarm going off because someone on the 3rd floor burned popcorn in their room and it set off the alarm.

Here is where the issue started. The hotel never told the guests what was going on. We were in the parking lot for 1/2 an hour and not one hotel employee communicated with us. Someone went back into the hotel to ask what had happened and that person provided the information. We ended up going back into the building because the alarm stopped ringing and the fire department left (they didn't show up for over 20 minutes after the alarm sounded). No employee ever gave us an "all clear".

Seriously? Marriott either had such a small staff or provided no training for an issue like this. I hate to think about what would have happened had there actually been a fire.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry H, Guest Service Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to rate us!
Thank you also for your positive remarks, we always do our best to make sure the hotel is in excellent condition.
I do apologize about the fire alarm at 2am. The gentleman that burned his popcorn was sorry to have been the cause of the drama but we definitely should have been more proactive with getting the information to you and our other guests who were waiting to find out what was going on. We are immediately beginning re-training on our emergency procedures to avoid this service failure in the future.
Thank you again for letting us hear your voice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is easily accessible from two major interstates. Breakfast was good each morning. The hotel had a shuttle that would take and pick you up within a 3 mile radius. Hotel would have gotten a 5 except for the highway noise that would keep you up (if you are going to build next to a major interstate might want to invest in some soundproofing) However that was the only thing I found wrong and I would stay there again if ever in St Louis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great stay while in St. Louis! The staff were extremely helpful. The staff in breakfast were amazing, especially Angie! She was so friendly, helpful, and welcoming! She went out of her way to help our family figure out what we should do while visiting St. Louis. We wish we could have stayed longer. Would highly recommend the Residence Inn downtown St. Louis!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been staying here every other week for several months on business. This place is comfortable, clean, reasonably priced, close to downtown St. Louis and close to St. Louis University. Staff is pleasant and accomodating. I like the layout of the rooms. Excellent breakfast and dinners in the morning and evenings. I am going to continue to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our second visit here (see review October 2013), and it was just as great as before. Wonderful staff, everybody here obviously takes pride in their work and treats their guests like, well, guests in the truest form. Front deal staff was helpful with recommendations on things to do and see, helped us get where we needed to go with the shuttle (3 mile limit) or a taxi. They even treated our dogs like welcome guests, always giving a friendly greeting and pet whenever we passed by the desk. The complimentary breakfast was very tasty and the staff handled the large crowd for the 4th very well.

Norman, one of The shuttle drivers, really exemplified the spirit of this hotel, staying behind the wheel long past his shift end to gather up all of the straggler guests, many of whom were not at their pickup spots at the given time. But Norman got them all back safe and sound.

We will keep coming back as long as staff as wonderful as Rick, Shelby and Norman are there'

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here during my yearly convention and it was a nice stay away from home! Had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite with kitchen and dining room. One bedroom had a king bed and the other had two queen beds. Plenty of room in this suite and the beds were comfortable too. The hotel has an indoor pool and hottub and workout room. The pool is open until 10 pm but the workout room is open 24 hours. It is not located within walking distance to downtown, but there are plenty of options to be able to get around, which we had no issues with. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommended this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Address: 525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#32 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the difference at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Louis Downtown. As the first and only extended stay hotel in downtown, we combine the conveniences of home with the services of a hotel. Wonderfully different and tastefully designed, you will have the option of choosing accommodations from our three various suite types ~ studio, one, and two-bedroom. With our versatile suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, you will have plenty of space for entertaining or meeting with colleagues; and space to work efficiently and comfortably. Experience the difference at Residence Inn by enjoying all of the complimentary extras we offer; deluxe breakfast buffet, evening social hour, high speed internet access, grocery shopping service, and exercise room. With our convenient downtown location, you will be just minutes away from all of the excitement happening in Downtown St. Louis Riverfront-Arch, St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Rams, Washington Avenue, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.