We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Downtown St. Louis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Downtown St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

When you walk into the lobby of this hotel, you are greeted very warmly and made to feel welcome. The desk staff is very efficient and check in is a breeze. There is a "store" behind the desk where you can purchase frozen food items, ice cream, candies, cookies, etc. for heating in your room. My room consisted of a living room/kitchen combination, a bedroom with 2 queen beds, and very large bathroom complete with blow drier and iron/ironing board. Of course, the usual shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion are all there as well as very soft, fluffy towels. The kitchen is fully equipped and comes with paper towels, cloth napkins and placemats, and dishwasher detergent. The living area has a sofa bed, desk and work chair, lounge chair, coffee table, and chest with 42" TV. Bedroom had 2 extremely comfortable queen beds, chest of drawers, another 42" TV and a clock radio with jack for your I-pod. A hot cooked breakfast is standard with your room and there is ample seating for the whole hotel. The breakfast has an assortment of breads and muffins, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes, 3 types of juice, coffee, waffles (with a huge assortment of toppings), assortment of cereals, fruit, and yogurts and some of the nicest, friendliest breakfast staff I have ever encountered. And, if you're lucky enough to be there Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday, dinner is served. The night I was there was there, dinner consisted of hamburgers (both regular and vegetarian), hot dogs, and bar-b-que pork. There was also mexican corn, potato chips, and potato salad as well as all the trimmings for the hamburgers & hot dogs. Not only did they have an assortment of soft drinks, you could also have beer and white or red wine and Zinfendel. It was delicious and all of this is included in the rate. They also provide a free shuttle service to anywhere within a three (3) mile radius of the hotel. This would include the Cardinals stadium.....

There were several children at this hotel but you wouldn't know it unless you saw them in the dining room. All the children I encountered were very well behaved and you didn't hear them running up and down the hallways. I know they also have a pool as well as a fitness and business center - I didn't use any of these but did see the signs for them.

Parking is only $10.00 per night which is a bargain for the downtown area. The hotel is fenced with wrought iron fencing and, I understand, is security patroled - although I wasn't out at night. The only drawback I could find with this hotel is that there isn't anywhere close by (here again, I didn't search real hard) where you could go for dinner, certainly not anywhere you could walk.

However, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. You could see the arch in the distance, and I passed the zoo on the way to the hotel (is just off 64), the Luminere Casino is less than 2 miles away so there is something for everyone around this area.

Family oriented, pet friendly, warm, comfortable, and cozy. What more could you ask for on a business trip. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I stayed on the side next to the interstate on the 8th floor but didn't notice any noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    58
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
25
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The service was excellent. The breakfast was awesome. Comfy beds. Stayed here after my friends' wedding. The shuttle service was a little odd (the driver got confused and sped a bit but he was a really cool guy!), but we got where we were going and it wasn't a bad price. Very nice rooms, no complaints. Can't complain about the price considering I used my travel agent perks and a gift card. We would have liked to have stayed closer to the MetroLink but still, can't complain considering the access to roads and taxi services to take us to Soulard and the Landing. Had a great time, again the breakfast was really awesome for being free. Being a travel agent, I knew what to expect, and honestly I really only care about a good breakfast in the morning, so I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the area (provided you aren't flying in... you would be better off staying closer to Lambert (STL)). Very nice place!

Room Tip: Stayed in a 1 Bedroom- 2 beds in the bedroom, sofabed in the living room. A little small, but for 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I travel for business extensively and primarily use Hilton or Marriott properties. I had accumulated a free night with Marriott and this is what I used for this reservation. We were coming in town for an appointment at Cardinal Glennon for our son. I wasn't sure how easy it would be to get to, but it was so simple. Just off on Market, turn left, and then left on Jefferson. Parking lot is secure with ample spots. We were given an upgrade at check in. The free dinner Monday through Thursday was excellent. Great for this economy. Room was clean, internet was fast, and the TVs had a ton of HD channels. Two movie channels, Showtime and HBO. Everyone we came in contact with was so friendly, in particular Angie (sp?). She was the host in the dinner room and seemed to know a lot of the guests very well. Many of these guests are away from their families for weeks at a time and she was so warm and welcoming. She should be commended for her service there. Breakfast was equally good in the morning with multiple options. Overall this is an excellent hotel that I would highly recommend. I believe they also have a special rate for families coming in for visits to Children's, Barnes, and Cardinal Glennon. You should call the hotel and inquire.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of February 2012 in a one bedroom suite for two adults and two children. The rooms were very clean, nicely appointed, and of course very spacious. The pool was smaller than I was expecting and the chlorine was overpowering at times. I was most impressed with the hotel staff. They offered wonderful suggestions of places to visit, and restuarants. The hotel also has a wonderful common area with a nice fireplace that we used as a place to hang out with our friends who were also visiting the area. The front desk offers many board games/cards that are available to checkout during your stay. The location was a short drive to the Arch and most downtown attractions, as well as The Hill and St Louis University areas. I would definitely recommend and plan to use this hotel again whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

It has a great set up for long term stays. We booked a 2 bedroom suite which had a great layout, 2 large bedrooms 2 bathrooms, living room and well equipped kitchen. The shuttle bus runs within a 3 mile radius which was very convenient for us. You just call when you are out and they will come pick you up. Free wi fi, a good selection of cable channels. They also have a decent buffet breakfast every day, and on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights there is an evening gathering with snacks available and beer/wine. And if you need groceries you just drop you list down to reception in the morning and they deliver them to you room that evening (with no additional charges!) There is also laundry on every 2nd floor, which is very handy when you are traveling with kids for more than a few days. Overall they really had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Was in town for business. Although it is not in the center of town the shuttle made everything carefree. The staff, even if simply passing by in a hall or on an elevator, were friendly and welcoming. Front desk staff were certainly helpful, as was the shuttle driver. It is a very short drive from Union Station. Right off 64. Not a bad drive to the airport, but allow for traffic. Aside from the typical breakfast, evening appetizer, full kitchen in rooms, business center, pool and workout area, this hotel had a very comfortable lounge and a cocktail bar! where many folks gathered in the evening. I noticed a number of families staying there with children in hospital; again, staff were very attentive and welcoming. Hands down I'll stay here again (and am already booked).

Room Tip: The side facing Scott street had hwy traffic noises but not so that it was disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Fairly new hotel (4-5 yrs old) with excellent suites. The facilities offered are modern and nice. Shuttle service to downtown and union station is a definite plus. Makes me want to shift loyalties from Hilton!
Great sales staff (Renee) helped us get a good rate for extended stay. Certainly coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Address: 525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#32 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the difference at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Louis Downtown. As the first and only extended stay hotel in downtown, we combine the conveniences of home with the services of a hotel. Wonderfully different and tastefully designed, you will have the option of choosing accommodations from our three various suite types ~ studio, one, and two-bedroom. With our versatile suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, you will have plenty of space for entertaining or meeting with colleagues; and space to work efficiently and comfortably. Experience the difference at Residence Inn by enjoying all of the complimentary extras we offer; deluxe breakfast buffet, evening social hour, high speed internet access, grocery shopping service, and exercise room. With our convenient downtown location, you will be just minutes away from all of the excitement happening in Downtown St. Louis Riverfront-Arch, St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Rams, Washington Avenue, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.