We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powell Symphony Hall

Powell Symphony Hall
718 North Grand Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)
+1 314 533 2500
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 69 Activities in Saint Louis
Type: Symphonies, Performances
Attraction details
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A wonderful building with great acoustics. There are many different programs for many different musical tastes. I have never been disappointed in anything I have attended at Powell.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st louis, mo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The St. Louis Symphony has a majestic but welcoming venue in Powell Hall, a beautifully restored building with a gorgeous ceiling and great acoustics. The musicians under David Robertson love to make music, and the concerts are designed to honor the classics and introduce St. Louis to innovative new music as well. The lobbies are crowded during intermission, but lines move quickly at the bar and the dessert counter on the main floor. There is seating available at the bar on the second level. The ticket staff are great--it's easy to purchase or exchange tickets. Parking in the lot just north of the building is easy and affordable, but it takes time to clear it out after a concert.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Venue; Wonderful Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great place to listen to a wonderful symphony orchestra! Highly recommend attending one of the concerts at Powell Hall.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love to visit the Powell over the holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I tend to visit Powell Hall during the holidays for the Pops concerts, that's my favorite time when it's decorated. I've never had a bad seat here and I've sat in the balcony too. The performances always sound great. There are reasonably priced food and drink choices during the performance breaks. Bathrooms were clean. The people who work here are helpful too. Close parking is a little pricy, but it always feels safe. There are very long bathroom lines when the buses unload their passengers before the holiday Pops, and there are a few buses for the Pops performances (esp the daytime ones).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Indigo Girls at the STL Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a great place for an evening of music! This venue hosts warm and inviting sounds, and my particular concert was absolutely phenomenal. The symphony played well along with the awe inspiring folk duo of The Indigo Girls. The bathroom facilities were clean and orderly given the number of people visiting, the drinks were not too expensive, and the seating is wide enough that you do not feel you're sitting in another person's lap. I'd definitely return here for another concert... Bravo!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell Symphony Hall also viewed

 

Been to Powell Symphony Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powell Symphony Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.