We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place to Take Your Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant's Farm

Grant's Farm
10501 Gravois Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63123
314 843 1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 69 Activities in Saint Louis
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fun Place to Take Your Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Grant's Farm is a fun place to take your family for half-a-day. It is free to get in, but it does cost $12 to park a family vehicle (buses are more). Living in the St. Louis area, we have visited there on numerous occasions, but this was the first time in several years. Our children are in their teens now, but they all seemed to enjoy spending time there looking at the animals (camels, deer, llamas, kangaroos, goats, iguanas, chickens, and bald eagles to name a few), watching the two animal shows, and of course buying some food. You can also see the Clydesdale horses at the barn near the parking lot. You can take your child on a camel ride for a fee, but the line was at least an hour long on the day we were there. Visiting Grant's Farm is a good way to spend a few hours if the weather is nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    179
    32
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second time visiting. It was better this time. Not that last time wasn't that great. The place is well-kept and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We will visit Grant's Farm again and again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great morning with the kiddos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Grants Farm is a wonderful place to spend a few hours with your children. It is small enough to be manageable but plenty large enough to keep the kids interested and amazed the whole time. Parking is $12 but entry into the park is free. Once you enter you board a tram that winds you through the park. There is a guide that gives you a run down of the history and tells you about all of the animals that you pass. At the end of the tram you enter the main part of the park where you can feed and touch all kinds of animals. It ends with free beer. How can you go wrong! We always get there when the park opens in the morning to beat the crowd.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
235 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“The Clydesdale Experience is Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Grant's Farm is a great place for smaller kids. Lots of room for them to run and play. The exotic animals are also a hit.

But the real reason to come for us older folks are the Budweiser Clydesdales. You can see them for no additional charge or you can take an in depth tour for $25 per person. The tour lasted for 2 hours and our guide Gwen was extremely knowledgeable. You learn their history and get an understanding of how well cared for these horses are. At the end they bring out one of the horses and you can groom him and take photos (No need to pay for a photo at the entrance). The experience is new and I did feel they were working out the kinks. We tried to book on line and the site said the tours were full. I called to find out what we could see without the tour and was told we could still book. So if you want to take the tour it may be worth calling to make your booking. All in all this was a wonderful experience and if you have the time this is a must do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great outdoor activity for the budget minded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A nice place to visit with children or special needs individuals. The park like area is well kept and has plenty of sights for all types of individuals. They have little presentations or shows to keep you entertained as well as the goat feeding, which is a must. Just make sure you are ok with a little goat p--p on your clothes if you go in. We went early before the crowd got bigger. You can't beet the price. Just parking. Oh yah, don't forget to see the Clydesdales across parking lot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant's Farm also viewed

 

Been to Grant's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.