We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little neighborhood place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Barley Eating

Iron Barley Eating
5510 Virginia Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63111
(314) 351-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky little neighborhood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

You have to try the fried egg sandwich. It defies description, but you will never look at a fried egg sandwich the same. Comfort food, so yummy! Go hungry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    40
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great Lintle soup!!!!!!! Get a draw from one of the onle casks in town. Best cask ale ever!!!!! Great German food!!!! Wonderful service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different and Fun Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food is great. The daily specials well worth the trip. Be aware not very clean place and dont peak into the kitchen. Best not seen.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield,Il
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bummer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dont believe the hype The place is in a dicey neighborhood and hard to find, We arrived at 7;30 for dinner and half of the menu was already gone.. I guess they only make so many portions up in advnce..Overcooked dry chicken and undercooked clumpy pasta. We'd be willing to give it annother chance if the reviews improve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, AL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent experience at the Iron Barley.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I had to work to find this restaurant, as we are not familiar with the area, but what a treat it turned out to be! I had a list of places to eat while visiting St. Louis and this is one that I am really glad we experienced. The meal was delightful and even better than described by our super waitress. It was a very filling, tasty and seemed to be well priced meal for the food quality. Let me add that it is a small place and we lucked into a open table - so we were feeling very lucky that evening. The excellent music / musicians just added to our enjoyment of the entire meal. Thumbs up all the way around for the Iron Barley.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Barley Eating also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Iron Barley Eating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Barley Eating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.