We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Urban Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park

Forest Park
Concourse Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314-289-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 131 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, History Museums, Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Parks, Zoos, Outdoors
Activities: Walking, Tennis, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the 1904 World's Fair, America's second largest urban park is a prime St. Louis recreation spot.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Beautiful Urban Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I visited Forest Park to take some pictures and do some walking. I suspect that Forest park might be comparable to Central Park in New York City. The Saint Louis Zoo, Missouri Museum of History, World Fair Expo Pavilion and the Saint Louis Art Museum are located in Forest Park (and all are free to visit). The first Korean War memorial in the United States was located in Forest Park. We also saw the Jewel Box, but did not enter since it was hosting a wedding. There are probably many things that we didn’t see in this expansive park. If you are in Saint Louis, I highly recommend this park. It is open each day from 6 AM to 10 PM.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    153
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We played golf at the Forest Park municipal course. It has to be one of the most beautiful parks in the world and very reasonably priced golf too

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Jewel Box”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Jewel Box is a greenhouse located in Forest Park, St. Louis, Missouri. It now serves as a public horticultural facility and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was designed by architect William C. E

It has been remodeled, there was a beautiful center garden area and waterfall in the back area. The remodel I was told to improve the facility for weddings and other events. It is nice but not as nice as it was prior to the remodel or worth the cost and it was only a $1.00.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lots to do, and free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A huge park right in the city, Forest Park is really a gem. Lots to do: golf, paddle boat rentals, free admission to zoo and museums, walking/biking trails. Some very pretty vistas with fountains and pretty museum buildings, beautiful landscaping. Very big so you don't feel crowded or hemmed in, but seems perfectly safe in daylight hours, and is officially closed at night. We saw a couple of wedding parties, people grilling (charcoal grills in park), some people riding horseback, and tons of bikes. Would be a great place to fly kites. If the weather is nice while you are in St. Louis, don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Heart of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

What can you find in Forest Park? Art Museum, History Museum, one of the finest zoo in the country, nice golf courses, and beautiful buildings from the 1904 Worlds Fair. The park and area around are a true gem of the city. Great spots to photograph, bike, picnic or walk. Best of all, it free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.