We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park

Forest Park
Concourse Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110
314-289-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 147 attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Parks, Natural History Museums, Zoos, Observatories/ Planetariums, History Museums, Science Museums, Historic Sites, Museums
Activities: Walking, Tennis, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The site of the 1904 World's Fair, America's second largest urban park is a prime St. Louis recreation spot.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Unlike NYC's Central Park or SF's Golden Gate Park, this huge park really has no character. The locals sure appreciate a vast swath of greenery in the middle of a busy city. Not worth a visitor's time. Though a bunch of other attractions are within the boundary of the park.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    127
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Nice Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Forest Park is great. So many things to do and lots nearby. Beautiful grounds, with a pretty lake that you can take little paddle on ( for little cost) The Boat House is a neat restaurant right on the lake or you can bring lunch and sit on the grounds around the lake. The Zoo is right there, the Art Museum, the Muny etc...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park But Be Careful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I live in St. Louis and go to the park often to run, cycle and go to the museums. My car was broken into last weekend as were 6 or 7 others. This has been happening very frequently the past year or two. Sunday it happened in daylight near the Visitor's Center which has free but unsecured parking. You won't read much about this in the local papers as it seems to be hushed up so people won't be discouraged from going to Forest Park.
The park is my favorite place in St. Louis but be very cautious in going there. Try to park only in secured areas such as the Zoo lot. If you park on the street DO NOT leave anything visible in your car. DO NOT leave wallets, cell phones, credit cards anywhere in your car. Take anything valuable out of the glove box and center console.
There are not often issues of personal safety but the theft in the park is growing.
Beautiful park with many of our best attractions but be very careful when going there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“saint louis zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

its free. its world class clean as disney world great display of hundreds of animals....& animal shows

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I honestly didn't realize how much there was to do at Forest Park. So many of the city's big attractions are actually contained within the park--the zoo, the science museum, City Museum, etc. It also is home to the World's Fair Pavilion, a theater, a greenhouse, and a Boat House.

My boyfriend and I decided we really wanted to see the Jewel Box (similar to a green house is the best way to describe it) and the World's Fair Pavilion. We didn't have a lot of time, so we skipped the larger attractions this time.

The park itself was enormous and a little bit hard to navigate even with the map we printed. It wasn't all that big of a deal though because it was cool to drive through it in any case. We came in December (a particularly mild day, which was great), so none of the water fixtures were running and the trees obviously had no leaves. I think it would be even more beautiful in late spring, summer, or early autumn though.

The World's Fair Pavilion was very impressive and beautiful. It was a great spot for photos.

The Jewel Box was a little confusing. The outside looked really cool. There was a $1 admission per person though, and not really much to see in it. We were in it for all of 10 minutes, and part of that was to stop at the restroom. I saw they do weddings there though, which I can imagine would be magnificent.

If we had had more time, we definitely would have done the larger attractions and will definitely check them out if we go to STL again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Forest Park to your Saves list