We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Save Saved
You added Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 Hhonors pts/nt
Ranked #32 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Located within a few blocks of the Arch, Busch Stadium, Old Federal Courthouse and Laclade's Landing. Great Staff and Great price. Very clean room. Would stay here again and recommend this Hotel. It's Housed in a old historic bank witch explains it's unique room layouts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    205
    74
    42
    12
See reviews for
86
186
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wgc
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We booked this hotel at the very last minute and were checked in before 08:30 that morning. We had checked out of the Hampton Inn up the road as it was extremely noisy and they couldn’t offer us an alternative room.

The room itself was away from the road and in a really quiet part of the hotel (room 538). This was heaven for us after the lack of sleep the previous night. The room itself was also quite dark with the curtains shut.

The shape of the room was a little odd as it was in the corner but there was enough room and we were only staying for a single night.

There is parking available over the road in a multi-storey car park and it works out at $18-00 a night.

There is no breakfast provided but coffee is available in the foyer in the morning, though not later in the day.

All in all we felt that we had been well looked after here, and the customer service was so much better than at the Hampton Inn just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I traveled with a group of 3 to go to a football game at the Edward Jones Stadium - we chose this based primarily on location. The had convenient self parking, a few blocks from the stadium and we were able to walk to almost every location we wanted to go to. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Metro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here one Saturday evening. Took a cab to the hockey game and walked across the way to the Lumiere Place casino. I believe they do have a shuttle to the casino but it was not too far to walk. Very convenient. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed in the Hilton for one night - the second leg of our Route 66 tour - and have nothing but good things to say.

We booked the Hilton through Hotwire. We were staying on a Sunday night and got a jaw-droppingly cheap deal.

Despite still being bleary-eyed and jet-lagged, the Hilton helped us slip nicely into our American Adventure. Check-in was smooth and the guys on reception were happy to deal with all our queries about St Louis.

All the main attractions are within a stone's throw away - the Arch is less than a five minutes' walk. The hotel is very austere and has a nice feel to it. The rooms are similarly grand, while the comfy beds are the size of a small county.

We ate breakfast and tea in the restaurant. Our four-strong party, including a vegetarian, were all thrilled by the standard of food - which admittedly was on the pricey size.

The valet was excellent . The guys had out our wagon in the morning within a heartbeat.

Considering how little we paid, the Hilton was outstandingly good. Even if we'd have paid three or four times more, I think we would still have been more than happy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My family and I stayed for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend. The location is nearly perfect for downtown, easy 2 minute walk to the Arch, the little parks west of the Arch, or up to Laclede's Landing. Unloading could be more convenient; the only lane next to the hotel is reserved for valet. We parked on the street, so I can't comment on the garage. Staff was very friendly. We wanted a crib for our smallest baby, and at checkin they were out, but when we returned from dinner there was a crib waiting for us in the room. The room had very tall ceilings, probably 13 feet. It was nice, with a nice refrigerator, two complimentary bottles of water, a nice Philips flatscreen, free wireless internet, and good coffee. The Hilton soap and shampoo smells so much better than Hyatt's. My only complaint about the room is that it was dark. The windows faced another building across a narrow alley. The lobby was small but nice. There was a mix up at checkout, they had inadvertantly charged my room for the previous tenant's restaurant bill, but it was easily and quickly sorted out. I'm just glad I noticed it before we left. Overall, this was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Our room was small yet felt quite luxurious. The front desk staff was quite rude. The fact that the restaurant is right off the elevators is kind of weird. We also had quite a few problems with the parking garage available to hotel guests. You need a separate key to access the garage. The key did not work for us AT ALL. We had to walk back across the street into the hotel lobby every time we left the hotel. That was kind of a pain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Address: 400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#30 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel at the Arch, a boutique hotel in the city. The Hilton downtown Saint Louis hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance The Gateway Arch, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing . Also just blocks away is Busch Stadium – home of the St.Louis Cardinals , as well as The Edward Jones Dome , where the NFL’s St. Louis Rams play their home games. Our Saint Louis hotel's location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the city's premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.