We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly run property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch to your Saves list
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfst, Pking, WiFi
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Poorly run property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In town for a conference and stayed at this Hilton. I'm a Gold member with Hilton and find their hotels to be normally well run,clean,and comfortable. That was not the case here. Housekeeping horrible, didn't replace soap,shampoo,coffee, or vacuum. They left room service dishes and only made the bed. Hair in bathtub and very dirty. I called G.M.Terry but never received a call back. Staff has total we don't care attitude. Avoid this Hilton if you can.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear laddiebuck, Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. Please accept our sincerest apology. We are truly disappointed so many areas of your stay went wrong. Our general manager, Mr. Green has been out of the office since your call and will contact you when he returns on Tuesday, May 5th. I am available to you 24 hours a day via email at mark.sugars@hilton.com or 314.436.0002 during regular business hours central time if you wish to speak about your stay prior to Mr. Green's return.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to regain your confidence in our service. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
45
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Exciting trip away for a couple days. Super excited when I pulled up and realized we were staying at the Hilton that was formerly a bank building. I love this beautiful building. The rooms are remodeled and updated.

Front desk staff was amazing. Very friendly, inviting and welcoming. We were able to check- in 3 hours early.
Room was on the corner, size was great, bathroom wonderful. Each room I have stayed in has been laid out differently. I like that.
Wonderful stay. We will be back.
Hilton at the Arch is my second favorite hotel in downtown St Louis.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear cplot, Thank you for your Five Star Review! We are delighted to have made your stay a great one and we look forward to your next arrival.
Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is nicely restored. Our room was small but had a nice view of the street. Our travel companions had a larger room but their view overlooked a small enclosed green space and faced other rooms, making for a lack of privacy. The bed was very comfortable and the motel was quiet, making for a good night sleep. Room service was very poor; after sightseeing all day we would return to our room to find that housekeeping had not provided clean towels, coffee pack replacements, or needed toilet paper! Like most Hilton's, there is no free continental breakfast. Breakfast on site was average, not worth the cost. Parking is convenient in a parking ramp located next door. Staff were friendly and helpful, although no offers were made when I complained about housekeeping during checkout.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dona R, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. Please accept my sincere apology for the areas of the hotel that went wrong during your stay. We want all our guests to feel welcome and cared for and with you we missed the mark. I wish for the opportunity to make things right with efforts to regain your trust. If I may be of service to you please contact me via email at mark.sugars@hilton.com or 314.436.0002. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in St. Louis. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cleer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel, fantastic rooms and very very clean with all the facilities you would expect from a Hilton. Unfortunately let down by the service: Firstly at check in when I said I would like to self park instead of valet park I got a stuffy look and sharp reply and we were not given breakfast vouchers that had been booked. We came down for breakfast at 7:30 and had to wait for a table to be cleared away (there are about 20 or 30 tables and there were only about 6 occupied the remainder were piled with dirty dishes that hadn't been cleared away). After we checked out, the key card to the parking lot wouldn't work and we had difficulty retrieving our car. One last small thing was that there were no hand towels available in the lobby gents toilet. Overall disappointing for a Hilton.

Room Tip: Avoid room 607 and all other rooms facing that direction, you look out straight onto another buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Andy S, Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your experience. We are disappointed we missed opportunities to deliver the service you have come to expect from Hilton Hotels. Please accept my sincerest apology for the less then excellent service.
If I may be of additional assistance to you in order to make things right I would be happy to be available. I may be reached 24 hours a day via email at mark.sugars@hilton.com or 314.436.0002 during business hours central standard time.
Thank you for your business and we hope to regain your confidence in our hospitality. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have to Travel Often, I have stayed at the Hilton Downtown St Louis at the Arch on several occasions, the Staff there takes very good care of you and Treats you as if you were Family. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Diven G, Thank you for your Five Star Review! We truly appreciate your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon in St. Louis. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a group of 9 students with me St Louis to compete in a national tournament, which meant I rented four rooms for five nights. One reason I booked the rooms there was proximity to the Metro rail from the airport: an easy four block walk with rolling luggage. The hotel staff were excellent, and being a Hilton Honors member check-in was easy and smooth.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Tom B, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent visit. We were delighted to have you and your groups as our guests and we hope to see you again the next time you visit St. Louis. Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently stayed at the St. Louis Downtown Hilton Hotel. The experience was wonderful!! We were treated with smiles by the staff when we checked in the hotel and the friendly smiles continued throughout our stay. We were there 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of the hospitality. They have a very nice bar and the drinks were fantastic!! We escpecially enjoyed the chocolate martinis. The breakfast buffet was perfect!! The rooms were clean and quiet. We plan on staying at this hotel when we go back to St. Louis in May, June, August and September. It's like a home away from home!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kurt H, Thank you for your Five Star Review! We love having you as our guest and we always look forward to your arrival.
Thank you for your kind words and we will see you soon. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Address: 400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel at the Arch, a boutique hotel in the city. The Hilton downtown Saint Louis hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance The Gateway Arch, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing . Also just blocks away is Busch Stadium – home of the St.Louis Cardinals , as well as The Edward Jones Dome , where the NFL’s St. Louis Rams play their home games. Our Saint Louis hotel's location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the city's premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.