We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Save Saved
You added Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 Hhonors pts/nt
Ranked #33 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Downtown St. Louis for one night, in two rooms. The location is great, and the hotel is very good overall. The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and helpful. My only observations are that 1) our room didn't have coffee and there were some toiletries missing - as though they hadn't made up the room fully, but otherwise the room was clean and nice; and 2) the lobby looks a bit dated, in need of a facelift. Both rooms were on the 8th floor; one of them was all the way in the corner, right next to the service room, which is understandable, since I had a dog. There was no noise, however, and except for the missing coffee and shampoo (in the other room), all was well. We got a great rate, similar to what one would pay in a motel or a cheaper hotel. The pet fee ($50) felt a bit steep, but it's not out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with the travel community. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in St. Louis and I am pleased to announce the hotel is under renovation. We have started with our rooms’ tower , scheduled to be completed by mid February. Our lobby, restaurant and bar are will begin a facelift in March.
We hope with our new improvements you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to St. Louis.
Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    208
    75
    43
    12
See reviews for
89
187
40
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st.louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

i really enjoyed my stay here at the Downtown Hilton hotel my over all experiece was exellent , I got what I was looking for a very quiet, private and relaxing stay.The comfort of the beds were awesome and very inviting, so satisfied with my stay!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Michelle T, Thank you for your Five Star Review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get the rest and relaxation you were seeking.
Our renovations are on pace and we hope you will visit us again and enjoy our new stylish look.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon in St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I grew up outside STL and return frequently to visit family &/or watch the Cards play. This hotel is in a great location for baseball or football games, the Arch, LaClede's, casinos, etc. My hub and I enjoyed running in the park around the Arch (basically across the street). The hotel is in a beautiful historic old building w/ inside parking directly across the street. The rooms are nice, quiet, w/ comfy beds, and ours had a mini fridge and a partial view of the river and Eads Bridge. The only real downside (other than navigating the one-way streets in the area) was the slow-to-non-existent service in the restaurant and the fact the small bar was closed; however -- we visited between Christmas and New Year's. I suspect both areas are ramped up during summer tourist season. Overall, we definitely recommend. We've stayed at the Crown Plaza across the street and the Drury and Sheraton down by Union Station, and this one definitely 'bests" those.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ikreid, Thank you for choosing the Hilton St. Louis Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your review.
Please accept my sincere apology for the slow service in the restaurant. We shall address this issue right away.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in St. Louis. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If location near the Arch is important to you and you enjoy staying in a restored historical property, this Hilton hotel may be suitable. I thoroughly enjoyed my recent one night stay. For my taste, all aspects of the hotel and room were very good. The building is known as the Merchants Laclede Building and was built in 1889. The building was designed for banks and brokerage houses; the restored lobby complete with chandeliers, paintings, and fine furniture add to the wonderful atmosphere of another time. The old bank walk-in safes are converted into the business center and hotel snack store. The building is only 8 stories so don't expect any spectacular views. Hilton restored the building in 2005. The interior and rooms are completely modernized but still retain an air of elegance. Room features are fine; my favorite feature was having an extremely comfortable "club" chair for reading and watching TV located in the fairly spacious room. King size bed was very comfortable. I was on the top floor in a room facing the rear right into an office building. Hot water and shower pressure were good. Bathroom lighting was also good. No problem with city street noises at all ( a common issue with many urban hotels). Staff I met were friendly and professional. Car valet parking is about $28 per day; a little less if you choose to self park. The walk to the Arch and Old Courthouse only take a few minutes. Not an abundance of restaurants in the area; however, there are several good ones within walking distance or short cab ride.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Keystone_Traveler, Thank you for your glowing review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We were delighted to have you as our guest and pleased you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel.
Renovations have started in our rooms’ tower and progress is on schedule to be complete in February and let me tell you it is going to be fantastic. We are all excited for our guests to have new stylish rooms while keeping the historic charm of the building. We hope to see you soon in St. Louis. Happy Holidays and thank you for your business. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hilton service was spectacular! I couldn't have asked for better service. The convenience of the hotel to everything downtown made the trip even better! Loved it here! Check in was done wonderfully! The food was great! The rooms were nice and spacious! Very comfortable. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Teeshia1, Thank you for your Five Star Review! We all have smiles on our faces knowing you had a great stay with us. We want all our guests to feel welcome and cared for and we are delighted to have you as our guest. We wish you happy holidays and thank you for your business. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, MO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Check in and out was fast and we had help with putting our luggage in the car on a cold and snowy day. Left a pair of shoes and housekeeping called the next day and had them for me. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mary M, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in St. Louis. The staff and I were delighted to have you as our guest and we hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is very large. Staff was kind and personal. Our room was very quiet. You can pay to valet park or just park on the street for free on the weekends. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. AC/ heater unit was loud and never turned off. I think it was because one whole wall was windows and you could feel cold air coming thru windows seals. The only bad thing was before our departure I ordered room service which was a $11 breakfast that turned into a $18 dollar breakfast!! There was a $3 service charge plus taxes. I never saw anywhere on the menu it mention of these fees nor did the women who took my order mention the fees. The $7 in fees and taxes left a bad taste in my mouth to end an otherwise decent stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear RPank, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel during your recent visit to St. Louis. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but had some problems with room service. Please accept my apology for the service fee not being in larger print. That is an issue we can solve quickly.
Thank you for your business and we hope you will stay with us again in St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Address: 400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#30 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel at the Arch, a boutique hotel in the city. The Hilton downtown Saint Louis hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance The Gateway Arch, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing . Also just blocks away is Busch Stadium – home of the St.Louis Cardinals , as well as The Edward Jones Dome , where the NFL’s St. Louis Rams play their home games. Our Saint Louis hotel's location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the city's premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.