We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and dependable...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Save Saved
You added Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 Hhonors pts/nt
Ranked #32 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid and dependable...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times. It is in a great location...the rooms are very nice and the staff is always friendly. I can't give it 5 stars due to the fact that the lobby is small and lacks a "WOW" factor and their are no real "views" from the windows. But it's a solid place to stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear CocoZou, Thank you for your review and we are delighted you stay with us when you visit St. Louis. Our hotel is scheduled for renovations later in 2013 and the buzz from the design team is that there will be some WOW factors. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    207
    74
    43
    12
See reviews for
87
186
40
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel. Great location. Within walking distance to EVERYTHING: The Arch, great restaurants, sports venues, and conference center. A lot of great restaurants and bars around the hotel. The only reason why I give it "very good" instead of EXCELLENT is because 2 out of the 5 days of my stay the room reeked of mold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent visit. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful sites of St. Louis. I am glad we were able to correct the odor issue while you were here. Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Near the ball parks near the casino near the bars and clubs, near the landing, near the arch, In down town if you going for work. rooms a re a little small but the building was build 100year ago so you have to take that in to account if you want the character and want to stay down town that is what you will get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Wyatt P, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found it easy to navigate to the many sites near the hotel. Thank you for your business and we wish you a warm return to St. Louis!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

No matter the price I would choose this hotel everytime just through personal experience with the staff. We were a large and loud young adult party group in STL celebrating my 30th birthday and they had the utmost patience with us and were unfailingly helpful. From getting cabs and vans to truck 17 of us around, to giving us directions and recommendaitons, to check in and out. We had a great experience! If you are looking online, however, be aware there is no pool, just a large spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear tadebuhr, Thank you for your Five Star Review. The staff and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a great birthday. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just got back from a stay at this Hotel. It was very comfortable and I really like the Delicious barbeque of St. Louis! And Jilly's Cupcakes! AWESOME! The amenities st This Hilton were all available. I will definately go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a Suite thay are quieter and give you the room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JDPMiami, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you found some favorite foods. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next arrival. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in a group that got three rooms this last weekend. First, I must say that the lobby is beautiful, and the staff is fantastic- very friendly and knowledgeable.

We walked into our room and noticed a stale water smell...we didn't really think much about it until we took our showers that night. As soon as I got in and turned on the water I got hit with the overwhelming smell of mold- I looked down at the shower curtain and there was an area no less than half a square foot covered in rust-colored mold...covered. None of our rooms had fans in the bathrooms (two of us work at hotels ourselves and know there can be switches difficult to find- we searched high and low inside and out of the bathroom, there is what looks like a fan vent, but nothing to turn it on) which might account for the mold issue. The whole room was like a sauna after just one hot shower. The next morning, housekeeping still didn't notice the mold in the bathroom so when we got back to the room we called down and asked for a different shower curtain. Within 20 minutes they had a replacement in there (very appreciative :) ). House keeping only made one of the beds, which we thought was weird. Otherwise, they did well. That night we got into the closet to pull out our clothes and noticed the mold smell again- we couldn't get good light in there so we couldn't find it, but there's mold in there somewhere as well. We ended up not be able to use the closet for much because mold smell would permeate the clothes. We didn't request to move rooms because we were already settled, close to our companions, and as were were there for a convention we assumed there wouldn't be much they could do- so it is no fault of theirs that we didn't change rooms.

The room was quite cramped- you couldn't get into the bathroom if the entrance door was even cracked, and the wall wasn't flat, but indented into the room, so that the door cleared it by about an inch for about half of its opening area, and the only way to get in was to flatten the door against the bathroom door. It's difficult to enter or leave when you have to navigate your luggage and self around an obstacle right at the door. You also couldn't go beyond the first full-size bed unless you moved the entire office chair elsewhere in the room (the desk was at the foot of the bed and the office chair did not push in under the desk and rested only a few inches from the foot of the bed) we had to find a place for that out of the way in the far corner of the room.

There are only 33 channels listed for the television, four of which are Hilton advert channels- you guys couldn't swing at least the basic 60? Get nat geo, history, anything? Watching tv was a loss unless you wanted to watch the major networks. No free internet (ethernet or wireless) available, no free parking, no free breakfast, nothing...not even a microwave in the room. I'd expect a few more amenities for an expensive hotel.

Again, the staff was great, we slept alright. It would have been nice to have more than a half size comforter for a blanket, but the weather was mild enough that this was okay. Maybe they could keep an extra blanket in the room...maybe in the chest of drawers (there was an extra pillow stored in the closet, but we dare not use it).

Room Tip: Don't get a double- I'd hope that single bed rooms would be the same size with one less bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear CFregon, We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the mildew found on the shower curtain. It has been brought up to housekeeping and shall be corrected. In regard to ventilation, the building was constructed in the late 1890's and the bathroom vents operate on an air intake system from a master unit on the roof. There are no individual controls in each room. I shall follow up with engineering to ensure proper settings. I wish the process was a little faster but the hotel is in the middle of switching from satellite TV to Cable and will increase our channels that will include HD channels. Thank you for your business and we hope with these updates you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this Hilton for the MVC tournament each year and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and nice and the service is very courteous and good. We will continue to stay here when we come to Saint Louis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Rick L L, Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time in St. Louis during the MVC Tournament. I am pleased to report our hotel will have an updated look by the time you visit us again next year. Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Address: 400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#30 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#32 Casino Hotel in Saint Louis
#32 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel at the Arch, a boutique hotel in the city. The Hilton downtown Saint Louis hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance The Gateway Arch, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing . Also just blocks away is Busch Stadium – home of the St.Louis Cardinals , as well as The Edward Jones Dome , where the NFL’s St. Louis Rams play their home games. Our Saint Louis hotel's location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the city's premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.