We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Save Saved
You added Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 Hhonors pts/nt
Ranked #31 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just around the corner from the Gateway Arch.
The food is excellent
Had 1 of the best meals, of your 3 week trip across America.
All the staff there polite, and helpful.
Our room was very clean, and spacious.
Cannot fault anything about this hotel.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 804jaslock, Thank you for your review. The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food in 400 Olive. All of us at Hilton anticipate your adventure in America will be full of wonderful memories. Thank you for your business and we hope your next journey will bring you back to our historic hotel in St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    211
    76
    43
    13
See reviews for
89
192
41
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hilton St. Louis Downtown is what it is. It's not a spectacular experience but is good for the business traveler. The hotel appears to be a renovation of an old bank in downtown St. Louis - which looks really nice. The vaults have been converted to gift shops and the foyer and main area of the hotel are very regal. You are a 5 - 10 minute walk to the St. Louis Arch and there are a number of places in walking distance. Quite honestly though, the area is a little run-down. It's sad. If you have a rental car you'll need to get a red access key from the front-desk upon check-in and then park your car in the garage across the street. No big deal. It was nice to have a garage so close and not incredibly expensive. No free WIFI when I stayed - but most Hilton Hotels require you to be a certain status as far as the Hilton Honors goes for free WIFI. No complimentary breakfast - also a negative. The buffet was depressing, but I stomached it. The workout facility was probably the best part of the hotel. Lots of equipment, nice weights, and big facility. Not much of a pool/spa though...

You're no more than 30 minutes to and from the airport - traffic doesn't appear to be too much of an issue in St. Louis. I'd honestly compare the area to Buffalo, Detroit or the like. Like I said, good stay, dated a little, and not much else to say.

Q: Would I stay again?
A: Yes.

(but it would be nice to have complimentary breakfast and free WIFI)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Pezman2005, Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to our hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As you may have seen during your stay we have started our exterior renovations keeping the historic charm to our boutique hotel. Even better news, our renovations move inside later this year with complete room updates so we may continue to provide our guests with superior comfort. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you soon in the city. Safe travel to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really nice and clean and was decently priced for its location downtown. We were literally blocks from anywhere we needed to go.... ;-) YAY!!! But.. Because it is downtown... I can understand having to pay $23 for parking. Yet You would have to walk a small country mile with luggage with NO skywalk and across the street to check in...??? :-(. So it was not a hard decision at all when we chose to valet our car for $28. Which was ok since we had mid-morning excursions to bars and restaurants that no in-and-out fee was charged. So that was cool. Overall I liked it a lot!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Br3suggs, Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Downtown St. Louis. Parking can become an added expense but we hope you will choose our parking and room package in the future as it will save some money. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a great stay here in St Louis. Hotel is very nice with all the extras. I would for sure stay here again. Rooms and beds were very nice. Nice downtown hotel is a good area. Nice pool area to splash around in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mike C, all of us at the Hilton are happy you had a pleasant stay while in St. Louis. Thank you for your business and taking time to write a review. We hope you will choose our hotel again the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property a couple of times and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a double-bedded room on the corner and very large. The bar is on the small side but makes it more intimate. The lobby is very pretty and still has the original bank vault when it was a bank. The breakfasts were very good with a nice selection. The parking garage is right across the street from the hotel which makes it very convenient. Being downtown you can, of course, walk to several shops and restaurants. Think anyone would enjoy this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Savvy Traveler, thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Hilton St. Louis Downtown. The staff and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon in St. Louis. Thank you for your business and safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This quaint hotel located right in downtown St. Louis offers the charm and small feeling of a boutique hotel with the quality and services of the Hilton chain. Its in an old bank building with the teller window being the check in counter. The rooms are spacious (which is unusual for a hotel in an older building). Caveat, i got upgraded so my room might not be examplatory, but the rest of the place had a small, focused feel to it that you dont normally get at a chain hotel, even the nicer Hiltons. The restaurant was decent and room service was suprisingly excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Tony H, Thank you for the lovely review about our hotel. Your experience is what our entire team strives for our guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel with many new improvements on the way in 2013. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon in St. Louis. Until then, safe travels to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was put in this Hilton hotel by my employer due to a much anticipated snow blizzard coming into St. Louis. I must say, this is a beautiful hotel. It was very vintage and elegant-looking. It was upon entry that I realized this builing was once a bank, and it still has what was once a vault in there. The rooms were so comfortable and spacious. Just for a last-minute overnight stay, the hotel provided everything I needed. I would certainly reccommend anyone stay here. From what I could tell, they provided a lot of business people with a warm, pleasant atmosphere. 400 Olive Restaurant was quite busy and the bar was filled with laughter and people talking, so that clearly indicates good eats and a good time! I did not take advantage of the pool, spa, or workout area. Just having it means something to those who would partake, though. EVERY employee I interacted with was super friendly, smiling, and greeted me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Nakisha E, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during a snow day in St. Louis. The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will join us again for some fun and sun this summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch

Address: 400 Olive Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#31 Casino Hotel in Saint Louis
#31 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown St. Louis, Missouri is the historic Hilton St. Louis Downtown hotel at the Arch, a boutique hotel in the city. The Hilton downtown Saint Louis hotel is situated at the corner of 4th and Olive Street within walking distance The Gateway Arch, America's Center and the Historical Laclede's Landing . Also just blocks away is Busch Stadium – home of the St.Louis Cardinals , as well as The Edward Jones Dome , where the NFL’s St. Louis Rams play their home games. Our Saint Louis hotel's location is less than 15 miles from Lambert International Airport and central to many of the city's premier attractions. This guarantees the perfect location for business meetings, weddings, social functions or a simple urban getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.