We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's Bar & Grill

Pat's Bar & Grill
6400 Oakland Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63139-3201
314-647-6553
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #354 of 2,524 restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Californian
Restaurant details
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Pat's is your classic neighborhood bar, where there are regulars and the staff seems to know everyone's name. I personally love places like this, I realize that might not be everyone's forte though. The food is great and the prices are reasonable! It's right across from Turtle Park and near the Zoo. The staff were super friendly and didn't make fun of me too much when I spilled my beer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A St Louis landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pat's is a St Louis Landmark that is not be missed. It's across the street from the World Class St Louis Zoo which really puts it right in the center of town. I don't know if the photo is still on the wall, but Pat's used to be frequented by Paul Newman when he'd come to town to race sports cars at Gateway International for the Budweiser Team. As the name indicates Pat's B&G is the quintessential neighborhood Bar & Grill. Everything on the Menu is fabulous however they fry like no one else. Chicken, Frog legs, Shrimp, Chicken Livers,...THE BEST!! And everything from a great Burgers to wonderful Salads and always a terrific Daily Specials. Not so fancy, but that's not so bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Pat's is right across from Turtle Park and the Zoo, in the heart of Dogtown. I had the chicken fried chicken, which was great, and the sides were good too. There's also plenty of tvs, and the staff are friendly and laid back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the fried chicken as suggested by several trip advisor reviewers and wasn't disapointed. The chicken was good and crispy, fries soggy and green beans with white diced onions on them weren't so great. It's a little joint which we like - nice cold beer and service was good and attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Simply Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

As a St. Louis native and frequent visitor, I've been going to Pat's for many years. The food is great, the prices reasonable, the service attentive, and the beer cold. While the food is why I go, it is a bar at heart so the music and conversation can be quite loud at times. If this doesn't bother you, you will love it.

There's a lot more to the menu than fried chicken however -- there's a variety of comfort foods, some higher end items, and even the St. Louis classic, toasted ravioli. In short, this is a classic neighborhood bar and grill that has managed to keep pace with the times without losing its soul. Oh, and smoking is no longer permitted, so you can actuall breathe between bites unlike the old days!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's Bar & Grill also viewed

Webster Groves, Saint Louis
University City, Saint Louis
 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
Crestwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Pat's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.