We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful neighborhood spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Cafe on the Park

Jimmy's Cafe on the Park
706 De Mun Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63105-2238
314-725-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Asian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited Jimmy's on the recommendation of a friend and loved it so much we've been back a few times. As all of our visits have been over the summer, we've always sat outside, but a walk inside reveals an elegantly appointed, if small, dining room. The outdoor seating is lovely, overlooking a small park in a charming neighborhood. This is a relaxing atmosphere for dinner with a local neighborhood feel, but the food surpasses your expectations given the casual feel to the setting. The offerings are a bit creative without being overly complicated and everything we've had has been wonderfully prepared. I'm looking forward to returning in the colder weather and experiencing the inside dining room.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Service-- Over the Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have not been to Jimmy's on The Park for over a year, shame on us. Forgot how good this place can be. Jimmy greeted us like long lost friends, seated us during Happy Hour in the front dining room next to large window. Craig was our server and his attention to detail was excellent. Dined with friends and could carry on a conversation not raising our voices. Food --- appetizers-- trout and cream cheese, salad was spinach with nuts and light dressing, friends tried the chicken and beef dishes-- all reported excellent. All of us sorry we did not save room for the bread pudding :( . Tables around us raved about how fine it was. We will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is so delicious. Love the cozy atmosphere and always have great service. The flash-friend spinach appetizer is to die for. I have cravings for that spinach!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very good casual restaurant, on Forest Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a large group for lunch, service was very good and meals were excellent. Location is on quiet area of Forest Park, easy to find, and a short distance from Washington University. Members in the party had steak salad w/blue cheese (very nice amount of steak), chicken sandwich with artichokes, sundried tomatoes, salmon BLT sandwich, meatloaf, cheesesteak sandwich - all recommended by our server. Everyone gave it a very high rating. Recommend it, will go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to brunch at Jimmy's for Easter. They had a very nice jazz duo playing. Not too loud so you could still talk and be heard.

An eclectic place with a nice atmosphere located across from a small park in the Clayton neighborhood, just west of Forest Park. We had excellent service.

We started with Mimosas and Bloody Mary's which were very good and we also had some lox and bagels for an appetizer. The lox tasted fresh and it was served with the usual cream cheese, capers and chopped onions.

For brunch we had an omelet, a tenderloin benedict and chicken crepes. All were served with fried potatoes and fresh fruit. My wife loved the omelet and my daughter enjoyed the tenderloin benedict. I had the crepes but found the filling to have a bit too much sage. The sauce was also a little bland. We were served a croissant with the meal that was light and flaky.

Overall a very enjoyable experience. I'd like to go back to try their evening menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Cafe on the Park also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Jimmy's Cafe on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Cafe on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.