We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond the call of duty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Restaurant

Tony's Restaurant
410 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)
314-231-7007
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,500 restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Description: Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Above and beyond the call of duty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Their food Is beyond outstanding. The professionalism of the employees goes beyond anything I have ever seen at any other restaurant. We're looking forward to going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    107
    20
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“long time ago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

mom took me when i was a teenager. always liked italian food no matter what. i don't remember not liking it, but i did spill my drink all over my food and they remade my food no extra charge. i'm a clutz.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Best bet on "The Hill"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wrong photo. That's Gian Tony's in the photo and that really is my regular favorite. The best bet on the" Hill". Downtown Tony's is great as well but way pricey.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town and Country, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tony's Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have never been disappointed with the food or service. Truly elegant dining. Vince Bommarito's visit to the table is always extra special. I have never been in the wine/cigar bar but would love to give it a try someday soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A ***** Star Event, always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For years, Vince Bommarito, has set the bar high, and never reached, for fine dining in St. Louis. Personal service, tableside preparations and unsurpassed service and food quality make Tony's an event, not as a precursor to a night on the town. Reservations are highly suggested and a server will be happy to provide the visitor with a visit to the kitchen which is a quiet room, no words exchanged and so clean, even with a full restaurant, that it would literally be ok to eat off the floor. Do not miss this experience. Vince has probably spawned more restaurants than any man on earth from his staff who have moved on. He is proud of that. He should be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.