We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy intimate atmosphere, great food, owner mingling with guests.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maya Cafe
2726 Sutton Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63143-3036
(314) 781-4774
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cozy intimate atmosphere, great food, owner mingling with guests.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a wonderful time at Maya Café last night. The owner spent time with us, discussed ideas on the entrees, and just was very personal. The margaritas, house, are spectacular. No wait for chips. I had the enchiladas and they were totally yum. This is not your normal Mexican restaurant. A few traditional Mexican items, but also items from Argentina, and others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We found this little gem on Trip Advisor.

Freshly made salsa and chips to start. Hubby had SANGRE DE TORO BEEF BRISKET Argentina - very tasty. I had CHAYOTE RELLENOS Costa Rica, it was very different but good, probably would not have again.

While looking over the menu I saw they had Tres Leches on the dessert menu. This is the only place on Missouri we have seen this. It was great. Not to be missed.

We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy & Eclectic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Three couples were newcomers to this restaurant by our invitation! We went on hearsay that it was good. When you walk in, there is a cozy feeling from the separate rooms for eating that feels connected! Artistic touches in decorating were just great. Above our round table was an upside down decorated Christmas tree. Our server was friendly, humorous, and throughly knew the menu. Chips, salsa, guacamole were were delicious and home made. All entrees were very well received by six different people! The flavors were authentic and very well seasoned. You can't go wrong!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was a great surprise. Fabulous dishes with great flavors. The shrimp dinner along with chicken dinner were OUTSTANDIG. This one restaurant to put on your try list. Great jazz band.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to Maya Cafe Saturday night for the first time. What a wonderful experience! Our server was very helpful with all of the menu choices. It's not really Mexican, although there are several traditional Mexican choices if that's what your looking for. Homemade guac was outstanding, as were the empanadas. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Three of us had the Aji dish (a little hard to describe, but our server explained it well). Truly excellent, and generous portions!

Good drink selections, too. The margaritas are homemade, too (not a mix) and really nice. Desserts were very good. We ordered flan and our server brought out 2 versions for us to try and compare (one made by the chef, and one made by the owner). Very fun.

I would put Maya cafe among re strongest recommendations I've made. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Cafe also viewed

 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Maya Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.