We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Casino & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River City Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
River City Casino & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 River City Casino Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I spent the night at River City for an evening of gaming. The hotel is beautiful! My room was spotless, well decorated and appointed. The front desk person, Pat, is the consumate client services representative. We'll done River City.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
81
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed one night at River City Casino & Hotel, and I was very pleased. I am a regular traveler to Las Vegas, and I would rank the River City Casino & Hotel close to the Encore (a Steve Wynn property in Las Vegas.) The entire hotel was clean and safe. The woman who checked us in at the lobby was friendly though she assumed we had stayed at the hotel before, handed us our cards, and said, "you remember how to use these, right?" I told her we had never stayed there. Something in their system showed we had already stayed there - but just a small glitch.

Room was well-appointed and clean. It was also QUIET in the evening even after gambling folks retired for the night.

We had dinner at 1904 Steakhouse (separate review,) gamed a bit, and then went back to our room.

The only real complaint we had was that the Lewy Cafe didn't open until 7am, and when we asked a staff member where we could get breakfast, the only "breakfast" available at the time was room service or a coffee cart near the lobby. Room service prices were reasonable as compared to other casino/hotel establishments, but we just opted to check out and pick up breakfast on the road.

I don't know much about this hotel's proximity to the surrounding area attractions or airport so I can't comment. I just know that even though you enter St Louis, be prepared to spend another 30-45 minutes driving on 4-5 separate highways to get to the hotel, and it is NOT a scenic drive on Carondelet or River City Blvd.

For what it's worth, we paid $149/night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. We were on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed at River City 4 times, but this last time Carol at the front desk almost made us drive 3 hours back home because She doesn't believe that military identification is sufficient identification. Thankfully another front desk employee came to our rescue when Carol was making us feel less than human. The nice lady explained to Carol (who was certain until that moment - that military identification is useless - all knowing Carol - not) that military identification is indeed = to a drivers license. The hotel is lovely and the casino is fine, but the the hotel either has a front desk clerk that has a chip on her shoulder for the military folk or is untrained/not trainable. Either way, we are not staying there again as long as Carol is there hating folks.

Room Tip: don't let carol "help" you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesstine J, Front Office Manager at River City Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. River City values and honors the service provided by all guests that have served in the Military, we even have a reduced hotel rate! Carol saw this review, and it broke her heart that she gave this impression, and that it tarnished your experience with us. We would love to invite you back to our beautiful hotel, please feel free to contact me at 314-915-8180. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

So..many negatives, Reservations made MONTH'S in advance for LARGE group (160 or so) Travel arrangement s made, Check out time 11am,. cleaning staff doesn't come in until 9:30am. they knew the arrival time of all. Rooms were not ready. Some waited hours some didn't get a room at all. Including V.P. One associate(male) was told that he could share a room with another male , 1 king size bed. There was no apparent management. Suffice it to say check-in was a night mare. Check out wasn't any better. Supposedly they gave us all a 30$ credit for the inconvenience. But, some how had overcharged. I could go on. Let's just say they will never see this $$ 80.000.00. We endued 3 days of complete lack of customer service. I suggest Management re-evaluates it's scheduling practices to oversee large business groups.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesstine J, Front Office Manager at River City Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we have used your feedback to update our procedures pertaining to large groups to ensure a smoother check in experience in the future. We are so very sorry that our service did not exceed your expectations, thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthurdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable. The shower was out of this world. Nice added touch was the tv in the bathroom mirror. We visited the casino during our visit and had a good time. Room service as a little disappointing though and we probably won't do that again but the overall expire nice more than made up for this.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

Two night stay at a great hotel. Only complaint is about the placement of the television that is built in to the electric mirror. Cool idea, but either need a stool to sit on or the tv needs to be higher. It is on the side of the mirror near the only receptacle so to use curling iron, do make-up, etc. the tv is smack dab in front of your face.

NO gambling luck for us and saw no evidence of anyone winning much at the tables or slots. Most of the dealers are very personable, but at least one floor employee was extremely rude when I asked her a simple question.

Food prices are quite high. Only ate breakfast there one morning, but service was slow & food just ok. The burger bar has good food, but long wait in line to order & then to receive food when your pager goes off.

Still will go back in the future. Convenient area for what we want to do in St. Louis, feels safe with well lit surroundings, beautiful landscaping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I would like to first admit my first experience with the front desk staff was not great at all. I did email Candice and had a conversation with Jesstine and they rectified the situation within less than 24 hrs. It made the entire stay worthwhile. The grounds were amazingly beautiful, the room in which we were upgraded to by Jesstine was breathtaking. This hotel definitely know how to treat their guest and it made the end of our trip great. I know when thinking of a casino/hotel you worry about the smoke smell, in the hotel area you wouldn't know a casino is attached you can not smell the smoke at all. The products utilized are so calming and relaxing all of their bathroom products had lavender in them it was a great relaxation product to end a great family vacation. The bathroom makes you not want to ever leave and the bed was so comfortable. The hotel is not downtown but not far from downtown. We had a view of the river so we seen boats come in and out.
Pros:
-friendly staff
-huge rooms
-great decor
-ceiling to floor windows
-clean rooms
-great products
-bathroom with TV in mirrors

Cons:
*initially the front desk staff but it was made right by Candice and Jesstine
-check in is not until 4pm

Overall a great hotel with lots of upgrades in ever room. This makes you feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room it's worth every penny. We stayed on the 7th floor it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River City Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Casino & Hotel

Address: 777 River City Casino Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63125
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River City Casino & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best at the award-winning River City Casino & Hotel. Along the banks of the Mississippi River, this stunning 7-story hotel offers 200 luxury rooms and suites and a state-of-the-art Event Center! Stay with us and you will be steps away from a 90,000 sq ft casino filled with night life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River City Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.