We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a tough hospital visit, a little bit better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkway Hotel to your Saves list
The Parkway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Parking Call Direct
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Makes a tough hospital visit, a little bit better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My dad was a patient at Barnes Jewish Hospital for a VERY extensive heart surgery. 6 of us stayed at the Parkway. The rooms are clean, good sized and quiet. The refrigerator and microwave in the room was a nice bonus(we have two children). The third floor walkway was convenient, and my mother was able to take a shuttle to avoid a long walk...bad knees. Overall a great place to stay if you have an extended stay at Barnes. Breakfast was good, cookies and popcorn were a nice touch. Again don't hesitate to get a room at the Parkway.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review The Parkway Hotel. I am so happy to read that our hotel, with all that we have to offer our guests, made your circumstances a little easier for youand your family. The walkway is very convenient to the hospital and we get great reviews on our hot breakfast buffet and great location. We hope to see you and your family again soon when you can enjoy all of the fun things that surround The Parkway Hotel (zoo, MO. Botanical Gardens, St. Louis Science Center and MORE!) Best wishes to your dad, and thank you again for selecting The Parkway Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    105
    51
    8
    15
See reviews for
125
49
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st john
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Rooms were clean enough My wife and I spent a night for a trip to Barnes Hosp.. while checking in there was a fellow I assume he was the Manager,, He had a pistol strapped on him?? Didnt make me feel comfortable,, I heard some weeks before that a car with a child in it got stolen off the Ramp.. Really does the management need to show off heat?? Also Applebees was very bad gave my wife a bad stomach all night..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Hello and thank you for your review.
Due to the fact that the Parkway Hotel must transport cash to and from the bank on a daily basis, for the safety of the person doing the transport, it is necessary to have that person armed for the obvious reasons. This person does have a legel permit to carry a firearm by the state of Missouri when doing those transports. We apologize if that made you feel uncomfortable. In reality, if anything, it should have made you feel safe knowing you and our other guests are protected during that time.
Thank you for your observation and we look forward to having you return as our "safe" guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the university nearby. Parking was poorly marked and very crowded, although I paid a sizable fee. Breakfast was removed before the time posted. But the most uncomfortable part was that the room had only a shower, and the shower curtain was curved and extended a foot beyond the small catch basin. Every shower we took meant that the bathroom floor was flooded, and I had to take several towels to mop up so we could use the bathroom afterward. The desk was indifferent, and no one ever responded from the hotel. Choose somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Hello Ms. S.
Thank you for your recently written review of March 2010. I see that your stay had taken place back in October 2009. The parking garage is not owned or managed by the Hotel. A near by hospital owns and manages the garage. The hotel gets charged by the garage owners $5.00 per car per day and this is the "very affordable rate" that we charge the hotel guest. Most of the downtown hotels parking charge begin at $17.00 per day. For your affordable guestroom in which you paid $119, you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our Free Amenities which included our Hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour coffee bar and fresh fruit, afternoon popcorn and our fresh baked cookies. We also have our courtesy hotel shuttle. Our very popular and raved about Hot Breakfast started October 5, 2009. the times for our breakfast have always been 6:30am to 9:30am. We have two managers that oversee the FREE Hot breakfast and they are responsible for personally ending the breakfast at 9:30am. For a better shower experience, back in October 2009 we had begun converting all of our shower rods to the crescent rod rather than the straight shower rod. Unfortunately we did not realize at the time that we needed a longer curtain and apologize for the inconvenience that the shorter curtain had caused you. We now have the corrected shower curtain in all 217 of our guestrooms. Thank you again for your comment and hope you have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

If you are visiting the Center for Advanced Medicine, Siteman Cancer Center or anything on the BJC campus, this is the place to stay. It has comfortable rooms, a walkway to the campus buildings, helpful staff, warm chocolate chip cookes, always available coffee and fruit, shuttle service - - you name it. We were totally satisfied with every aspect of our stay. We would definitely stay at the Parkway Hotel again. Be sure to ask for the patient rate if that is the purpose of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Hello Judy from Kansas City:
Thank you for the review. Yes The Parkway Hotel certainly is very convenient if your destination is the Center for Advanced Medicine @ Siteman Cancer Center or any appointment within the BJC, or Washington University School of Medicine Campus. As I'm sure you discovered, you can quickly get to the various medical buildings which are directly across the street from The Parkway Hotel, however if we have inclement weather, you can go to the 3rd floor of the hotel and take the sky walk and quickly get to your appointment while staying nice and dry. We look forward to seeing you again Judy, our friendly staff and warm cookies will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Mo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Very nice hotel. The staff was most accommodating and friendly, and the ammenities were very nice. Our room with king sized bed was very roomy, although nowadays, most hotels have flat screen TVs in the room. This did not, but not a big deal as all we watched was the weather channel anyway.
The most outstanding thing about this hotel was the location. Right off Kingshighway on Forest Park Blvd, it is perfectly located in the center of town. We had dinner in Clayton, no problem, just shot down Forest Park Blvd. Later--off to the Fox Theater, right down Forest the other direction. Plus all for only $90, including breakfast, I thought this place was more than I could have bargained for.
Recently we stayed at the Moonrise, which is rated one of the best places in St. Louis. We spent close to $200 per night. Newer than the Parkway?--yes. Worth more than double?--not a chance. For the convenience, price, and free hot breakfast provided, I will now make the Parkway my hotel of choice when staying in St. Louis overnight.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Hello St. Louis Cards Fan: Thank you for taking out time to review The Parkway Hotel.
Happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff and amenities. Our Free hot breakfast buffet is a big hit along with our popcorn and fresh baked cookies in the evening . We look forward to having you as our guest again. Baseball season is just around the corner and the metro link which is out our back door will be a fast and convenient way for you to get to the stadium. I hope that upon your return, we have our Flat screen TV's in our guestrooms. We expect them soon!! Thanks again!
GOOOOO CARDS!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The upgrades of hot breakfast and night-time goodies has certainly enhanced Parkway. If one is on a time schedule for Barnes, it is so great to have breakfast in the lobby. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We have used it for two years on and off. Will always stay here unless the cost becomes prohibitive.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed here one night in order to attend a conference. The room was immaculate. Fresh fruit, warm chocolate chip cookies and popcorn were availabe free in lobby at different times, as well as coffee. A hot breakfast was included. Unfortunately, my room faced the street, which was noisy; my colleagues in rooms facing other directions didn't have this problem. The exercise room was small, stuffy and not air-conditioned, with only 2 working machines.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
I am happy to read that you had the time to take advantage of our amenities during your stay at The Parkway Hotel. Our guests love the extra goodies along with the cleanliness of our guestrooms and the fact that our staff treats our guests like family. Regarding our exercise room, we have future plans to expand.
During your next stay at The Parkway, please ask to speak to one of our sales managers and we will be happy to show you our meeting space. Thank you for taking out the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Address: 4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transporation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtsey shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and speciality shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital.The Parkway Hotel, the Affordable Luxury Hotel, is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.