We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to The Parkway Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkway Hotel to your Saves list
The Parkway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Parking Call Direct
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Cave-in-Rock, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Kudos to The Parkway Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter was having surgery in Barnes Jewish Hospital.This hotel makes a very difficult situation a little easier on families. Staff is kind and very attentive to your needs. Provided information and assistance whenever we ask. The location was ideal for going back and forth to the hospital. The indoor link between the Hotel and Hospital provides a safe walk or we used the complimentary shuttle. Rooms were clean and well stocked with linens and personal care items. Discounts were given when possible. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    105
    51
    8
    15
See reviews for
125
49
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at the Parkway due to family member at Barnes Jewish Hospital. Hotel was clean. Room was clean, attractive and comfortable. Coffee always available, popcorn and a hot breakfast added to the comfort. The hospital complex is accessible by a series of catwalks giving one convenient access. Though Appleby's is attached, there are many great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Access to hospital complex is on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, especially considering the price we paid. It is one of the few hotels I've found where I was actually able to get a lower rate through Expedia than through their own website. Even though the Applebee's attached to the hotel had just experienced a water-main break and was closed while we were there, it didn't disrupt our stay in the least. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the location is very convenient to hospitals, restaurants, universities and beautiful Forest Park. To top it all off, they offer complementary chocolate chip cookies in the evening, popcorn in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Because it's next to a hospital, we did hear sirens from time to time. While they didn't int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I drove 5 college students to Mellon-Mayes Foundation Conference @ Washington University. This hotel was our 'homebase'. Conveniently located for the conference and in a great neighborhood/district( Central West End) for walking, exploring,dining,etc. Easy access to the rest of the city- easy drive down to the Arch.
The hotel was very hospitable...really enjoyed the fresh fruit in lobby, popcorn in the afternoon/evenings/the yummy warm chocolate chip cookies..Very unusual to find the FREE treats/snacks in the room! The breakfast every morning was more than adequate and provided a tasty and economical way to start the day.
I especially appreciated the 24 hr fitness area on 7th floor. Wish there was a pool and/or jaccuzzi!!! But can't have everything!
Only disappointment was the closed AppleBee's due to flooding.. but not the hotel's fault and, in actuality, forced me to explore alittle more and , consequently , got to enjoy some of the Central West End's fine restaurant selection .
All in all, a great experience! Thanks..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at about 11:30 am, October 26, to attend a wedding. The hotel was very busy with many people waiting to check in early even though the check-in time was 4:00 pm. To make things worse, there had been a problem the previous night at the adjoining Applebees restaurant resulting in the shutting down of the restroom area in the lobby of the hotel. Given this chaos, the professional and courteous treatment of the hotel guests by Ms. Stephanie Smith was exemplary, even arranging for us to use another hotel room for bathroom facilities. She was also most efficient in getting us checked-in early, giving us a chance to change and prepare for the wedding. Thank you Ms. Smith and staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had theft of all my jewelry with no assistance from staff. They did not return my 5 phone calls and then accused me of not having a theft since I did not report it to them sooner. I filed a police report and was told it happens regularly. It was taken when I went to breakfast. Extremely poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
When customers write reviews on this board, we know that not everyone is truthful.
Let us state some facts:
#1. The police would not be able to tell this customer that this happens all of the time because they have never take a report at our hotel regarding theft. How would they know?
#2. The customer claimed to have called 5 times and this is simply not true. The first time the customer called, our staff responded with a full investigation to hopefully find the missing jewelry. When our investigation came up empty we did suggest that they call the police and / or make a claim against their homeowners insurance. This is standard procedure due to the fact that the state of MO law states that “the inn keeper is not responsible for anything left in the room.”
The customer has lost their item and naturally blames the hotel . In the 10 years that we have been opened , we have yet to be blamed for any item missing from a guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My organization has held its annual meeting in St. Louis for many years and has found the Parkway to offer the best balance of price and quality in the Central West End. The staff are attentive and helpful; they make conference planning easier and have worked with us to get the details right. The ability to schedule shuttle bus runs in advance is also very useful for a planner. Recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. Yes our sales department does a wonderful job of executing successful group meetings and getting all departments heads of the hotel involved and onboard to ensure every detail is met. The Parkway has meeting space if needed and also books rooms only groups. Meeting planners can call our main line and ask for the sales department and our slaes staff will be happy to provide information on how they can make planning an event easy and hassle free. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your annual business. We look foward to seeing you and your group in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Address: 4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transporation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtsey shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and speciality shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital.The Parkway Hotel, the Affordable Luxury Hotel, is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.