We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous caring staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkway Hotel to your Saves list
The Parkway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous caring staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My family stayed at the Parkway for 6 days after my father was admitted to Barnes Jewish Hospital following a stroke and seizure. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing a place to stay while a loved one is in the hospital (or for any reason you are in the area). The staff welcomed me and cared for me in my distress and always greeted me and asked how things were progressing. We took advantage of the free shuttle service to the hospital a few times and utilized the indoor walkway link between the hotel and Barnes South. This was a very safe way for us to get back and forth in the early mornings and evenings, for my mother, my two daughters, toddler, baby and me. The free hot breakfast every morning was a lifesaver for our group as we didn't have to rush to get dressed and drag the babies out into the city. The adjoining Applebees was a nice change of menu from the many meals eaten at the hospital cafeteria (which is very good with a good variety too). Parking for only $5 a day was great. The on-site laundry facilities came in handy as we only brought a limited number of changes and had to extend our stay repeatedly. The policy for extending our stay and late check out was very generous. I wish I had the names of the staff to compliment each one individually, but it is not a stretch to say that EVERYONE WE ENCOUNTERED went out of their way to offer their sympathies and best wishes and help to us in any way we needed. I wish I received this level of hospitality at all the hotels I visit.

Room Tip: The third floor links to the sky walk to hospitals. Park on the first floor of the garage to have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Good Morning and thank you for taking out the time from your busy day to review The Parkway Hotel. Due to our great location, we have the best of all worlds. With our close proximity to the Hospitals, we get to know the family and friends of the patients. We also have our other guests that are non hospital related, which consist of groups, weddings, athletic teams, government, corporations and associations. It's a busy hotel and our wonderful staff does a great job of remembering our guests and providing a great stay for them. We hope that you can come back and enjoy all that our hotel has to offer without making a trip to the hospital. There is so much to do within our area for lots of family fun. Thanks again for selecting the Parkway Hotel and your review, we apprecite it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    107
    53
    10
    15
See reviews for
130
50
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, I
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was staying at the Parkway for 9 days in order to have surgery at The Center for Advanced Medicine/Barnes Jewish Hospital. I would highly recommend staying at the hotel for anyone who is going to that hospital - it's easy to access the facilities using the connected walkway; there's plenty of nearby eating establishments; the fantastic walking trails in Forest Park are just a block away; the Metrolink is less than a block's walk; and the hotel has a 5-mile area courtesy shuttle that can take you to plenty of museums, attractions, and shopping. The whole set-up made for an easy and stress-free stay. Additionally, the staff was very courteous and caring, wanting to make sure we were well taken care of. At then end of our stay, we knew many by first name - Lester, Ed, John, Audrey - and departed with hugs and personal farewells. Not likely to happen at a chain hotel. I will be returning for follow-up appointments and plan to stay at the Parkway again.

Room Tip: The 8th floor has the nicest rooms and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. We are independently owned and operated, and we believe this makes us special. There is no need to be "chained" to a "chain hotel" ?
The Parkway Hotel is the HOTEL THAT CARES. Our staff truely loves and enjoys our guests. We remember our repeat guests which always makes them feel welcome.
We have a wonderful location that is convenient to the Hospitals, the University and various attractions and restaurants which makes The Parkway Hotel "the place to stay."
The staff looks forward to your return. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed there in September for a week, and got a really lovely room, twin with two queen beds as I was travelling with my step-mother. It was a corner room with a great view. Spotlessly clean every day, a joy to come back to after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Tea and coffee in the lobby all day long and homemade choc chip cookies in the evening, all complimentary. Breakfast was included, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, cereal, etc., buffet style with paper plates, far from fancy but did the job. We could walk to some lovely little shops and restaurants just across the road past Tom's bar and really had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street or rooms facing the car park, choose a corner room with a view of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. Location.. Location.... You can't beat our Location. :O)
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed some of the amenities that the Parkway Hotel has to offer. Along with the breakfast and delicious cookies that you mentioned, we also have popcorn that is complimentary from noon to 9:30pm and if you missed it, we have a large fitness center on the 7th floor for all guests to enjoy.

Thank you for noticing our spotless guestrooms. Our housekeeping department takes pride in keeping our guestrooms nice and clean.

The staff of the Parkway Hotel looks forward to seeing you and your step mom again soon. We are in the process of getting all new bedding which we are very excited about. Possibly by the time you visit us again, you'll get to enjoy it. See you soon and thank you for selecting The Parkway Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a family member's wedding. The bride chose this place because they offered a free shuttle to both the wedding venue and the rehearsal dinner restaurant. The night of the rehearsal the entire family drove from the wedding venue to the restaurant. The only people that stayed at the hotel until the dinner were the grandparents. Unbeknownst to everyone the grandparents had to walk 6 blocks to the restaurant because the hotel told them that the shuttle was not running at that time, it was 6:00pm. The shuttle is supposed to run until 9:30pm. The hotel did not offer to get them a cab or help them in any way. During their walk, the grandmother fell and hurt herself. When we arrived back to the hotel and asked the front desk why this happened, they then told us the shuttle had a flat tire. There was no apology, just excuses.

Also, the bride and groom had made gift bags for all of their guests staying at the hotel. Only a couple of them were given out, while the rest of them were in the office behind the front desk for all to see. When asked why these were not being distributed, their excuse was their hotel doesn't assign rooms before guests arrive. Not mentioning anything on why they aren't given to the guest when they check in. Also when asked for specific people's gift bags the front desk said they couldn't find them, later when they looked again those bags were sitting there the entire time. They said that since everyone was checked in now, they would send them to their rooms.

The following night was the wedding and the shuttle once again was not "available" for wedding guests to use. Therefore one of the guests had to drive back and forth several times to make sure everyone arrived on time.

After the wedding when the bride and groom arrived back to the hotel, their suite had not been cleaned. The groom had stayed in that room the prior night, but the room should have been cleaned at some point throughout that day. They didn't arrive back to the hotel until midnight. When they spoke with the woman named Anna at the front desk, she was completely rude to them.

Later that night a family member saw in the office that there were still gift bags sitting there. Since it was just a few feet from the front desk and no one was there, he went to see who's bags they belonged to. Then Anna (the person that the bride and groom spoke with earlier) yelled loudly from across the room to get out of the office. He did, but was validly very upset about everything that went wrong. Because his voice was raised when he started telling Anna why he was back there, she turned to him and said that he was assaulting her. She then threatened to call the police on him and asked the security guard to file a report. Anna was threatening and assaulting him, not the other way around. Once I stepped in to talk and try to calm the situation, Anna then turned to me and told me "You need to stop talking and get out of this conversation". Took by surprise I let it go and we went up to our room. After a few minutes, we went back downstairs to talk. Anna once again was giving excuses, talking down to us, and acting on some sort of power trip. I spoke with her a little while alone and the only kind of apology she had was for yelling at me. She then downgraded the gift bags stating "Oh sorry not everyone got their bags of chips and candy bars....". She was rolling her eyes and stating that her uncle is the chief of police. She also said "Her manager would have her back for all of this."

If a manager of a hotel allows their employees to treat their guests this way, then I don't know how they would ever have guests repeat a stay. The only thing we wanted were apologies, not excuses or threats or attitude. They were very unprofessional and I have never seen "customer service" like this at a hotel.

Other then that, the rooms were clean and the cleaning staff and security guard were very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
The Parkway Hotel takes any complaint seriously and we investigate any incident before responding.
We are very familiar with this particular wedding group. Over this weekend our Courtesy Van that is available for all guests to use (sign up is at the front desk), unfortunately, earlier in the evening, had a flat tire. With getting towed and replacing the tire, this had taken time. In our Managers On Duty’s shift report, he notified all managers about the tire issue and he personally called 6 taxi cabs for this wedding group as they were being requested that evening. Later the same evening, Forest Park had the annual Hot Air Balloon Glow Race. Several balloons had landed in an area that blocked traffic. This caused a large traffic jam and our van and many taxi cabs were caught up in this until the balloons were removed from the streets.
Regarding the gift bags: out of the 17 gift bags that were dropped off for this wedding, 3 were not handed out. We have a specific area designated for gift bags and this area is known to all staff. Our computer informs the clerks, as they check guests in, if a guest has any type of gift bag or envelope that we need to give them. With the system temporarily shut down, as it was being rebooted, we checked in guests by pulling the registration cards, therefore, for a period of time that evening, we could not view if any guest had a gift bag or envelope waiting for them. The brother of the groom stopped by our front desk and after our manager told him about our temporary computer outage, the brother said this was Ok and they would come and get the remaining gift bags containing chips and candy bars later. A family member that saw the gift bags in the back office, between 3 to 4am, startled our female night audit staff member by showing up in an “employee only area” where she was sitting. He admitted to her that he was intoxicated and said he apologized in advance for anything he was about to say. She was upset by his behavior and was not about to take verbal abuse over something that was already discussed with the brother, therefore, taken care of. We have the incident all on camera and it was witnessed by our 24 hour security personnel. We treat our guests with respect but we will not take nonsense from intoxicated guests, as we are all aware, there is no way to rationalize with them.
Regarding the bride and grooms suite not being cleaned on Saturday. The Bride and Groom CHECKED IN on Saturday the 17th this room was not checked into on Friday the 16th. Our housekeeping staff went above and beyond to have this suite ready early for them because they requested early check in on Saturday and we were sold out the night prior. The couple arrived at 2:57PM, Sept. 17 our check in is 4pm. Like all hotels, guestrooms are cleaned before a guest checks in, and it is not cleaned again until the next day which would be Sunday.
All this to say, we have our first hand facts, unfortunately vehicles get flat tires, hot air balloons land in unexpected places. computers have to be rebooted and weddings and other celebrations= alcoholic beverages which causes people to not always conduct themselves or recall facts the way they normally would.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

A Beautiful Hotel with excellent accomodations to BJH, never having to go outside the hospital or hotel. Excellent Housekeeping services, Lester does a wanderful job making sure the rooms are clean & service is met.
I would recommend the hotel to all and will be staying there in the future.

Room Tip: For Hospital stay suggest the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach Orchard, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Outstanding location for enjoying the Central West End or for visitors to Barnes Jewish Hospital. Unfortunately, in a neighborhood characterized by outstanding bars, shops, and restaurants, the Parkway offers only a generic chain restaurant, and the atmosphere is more "generic hotel" than Central West End. If they lowered rates a few dollars, they'd be a great value for location alone, but IMHO, they are overpriced by 10-20%.
Parking is free, but a bit of a hassle when we stayed due to construction in the garage.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Second year in a row returning to St. Louis as an official for the US Open USTA Wheelchair Tennis tournament in Forest Park. Although the hotel has plenty of parking, I never needed a car with the tennis courts and great restaurants within walking distance! Also, the hotel will run a shuttle van to take guests to places that might be a little too far to walk, such as the great Italian restaurants on "The Hill"! The cookies at the front desk every evening are a definite plus and the complimentary breakfast in the morning is well prepared. The guest rooms are very roomy and kept extremely clean. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkway2, Manager at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. The staff of the Parkway Hotel loves having the USTA Wheelchair Tennis Tournament group stay with us each year. Everyone within the group is great. Some of the staff and I have attended the tournaments in Forest Park for the past two years and all we can say is "WOW what a fantastic group of athletes!"

There is definetly a great selection of restaurants that surround the Parkway Hotel. With the 6 blocks of restaurants in theCentral West End area and the "Hill" just 2 miles away, our guests are bound to find a delicious and memorable meal.

Our Hot breakfast, popcorn, cookies, coffee and internet are free to all guests and we're glad that the USTA athletes look forward to enjoying all that we have to offer.

Thank you again for your review on our hotel and we are looking forward to the USTA's return in October 2012. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Address: 4550 Forest Park Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transporation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtsey shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and speciality shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital.The Parkway Hotel, the Affordable Luxury Hotel, is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.