We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar

1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar
1860 S 9TH St, Saint Louis, MO 63104-3904 (Soulard)
(314) 231-1860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,025 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Soulard
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Soulard
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had oysters, buffalo chicken wrap, fried chicken, and a seafood plate (can't remember what exactly that one was) on a Sunday evening. The food was great, the beer was cold, and it was nice to have music coming in from the bar side but not be bombarded by it on the cafe side. We could actually have a conversation with background music, it was nice. However there were not many people there and the service was still sloooow. I honestly don't know how long oysters take to make though, maybe that was why, I'm not sure. In any case, I give the place a 3, but still fully intend on returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you can overlook bad service, you need to come here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is incredible. The crab cakes at 1860's are the best crab cakes I've ever had in St. Louis. I'm sure ones in Maine are better, but in the Midwest we have to take what we can get. These ones are awesome. They're nice and big and spiced to perfection. The po'boys are tasty as well. The buffalo chicken pizza is alright; you can find better elsewhere.

As far as service goes, this place is lacking majorly. I think there is only one server ever in the entire place. It takes quite awhile for someone to get to you when you need something. The food though is excellent and if you can overlook the poor service you definitely need to try 1860's. They have wonderful Cajun food and an awesome giant jester in the dining room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, very good value, service a downside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food at our table---most had fish & chips, burgers or crab cakes---was tasty to delicious, not one single complaint about the food at all, was a good value for money spent, but service brought total rating down. Waitress was nice but inattentive, had to go to the bar to get a drink refill, and silverware was delivered well after the food was. But the food was tasty enough I'd not turn down an offer to go eat there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great southern grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the seafood gumbe Cajun style with shrimp, surimi crab, andouille sausage and vegetables. Spiced just right and very affordable. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stop here if you are near.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this place while looking for a different place. We decided to stop and try it out. There is a sign on the door that said minors not allowed so we turned around since our 5 year old was with us. Someone stopped us and said that the back game room was child friendly so we tried it. We were the only ones in there and had the undivided attention of the bartender. The chicken strips were excellent and I had a great catfish po boy. I highly recommend it. Very good food and very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Been to 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1860's Hard Shell Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.