We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hannegan's Restaurant & Pub

Hannegan's Restaurant & Pub
719 N 2nd St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2518 (Downtown)
314-241-8877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #822 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Classic pub look - lots of green, brown and brass. Average menu although the bison burger was a bit of a surprise. I couldn't decide between the club sandwich and the cheesesteak. I opted for the cheesesteak. It was good, not great. Wished I'd gotten the club instead. The homemade fries were delicious, though, and the beer was cold. Seats a lot of people which is probably good on game day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    30
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious well priced BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great value for lots of wonderful food. Had the sliced BBQ platter and it was all delicious. According to the server this is NOT the place for gooey butter cake so go with the caramel apple dessert instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Find another dining option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having just arrived in town, we stumbled upon this place in the historic area by the river. Food was subpar; service matched. Soup was spilled all over the plate on which it was served. Sandwich ($9!) had wilty lettuce and mealy tomato. Couldn't wait to leave. Sorry we didn't explore the area longer before making this bad decision.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went down to the old Landing area looking for a lovely lunch in a historic atmosphere. The choices down there are terrible. We chose Hannigan's because it had an outside area and about the most interesting menu of the choices in the area (which isn't saying much).

The food wasn't offensive, but it was totally uninspiring and a bit overpriced. I had some fish taco's that was a special that day. My dining partner had the pulled pork. Neither was very fresh., looking as if it had been sitting awhile. I suspect that this place uses alot of Sysco-type bulk restaurant stuff...frozen pre prepared meat, canned sauces, mixes for soups and gravy's , etc. It was just ok.

The tank top clad waitress was ditzy, kept forgetting stuff and had sort of a wise-cracking demeanor, which was quite inappropriate when she's serving strangers.

So my recommendation would be not only to avoid this place, but if you're looking for a decent meal...don't bother going down to the Landing. It's an area that has a lot of bars and concentrates it's focus on the late night partying crowd. I suppose when you've had a few beers and you're hungry, you'll eat anything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great piano bar inside. We ate outside due to perfect weather and time of evening. Helpful friendly waiter. Nice place to sit and people watch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannegan's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Hannegan's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannegan's Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.