We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitz's

Fitz's
6605 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63130-4504 (Formerly Fitz's Soda Bar & Grill)
+1 314-726-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a large group (including 7 kids) and were seated upstairs by the games. I really appreciated this so we could watch the kids while we waited for food. Out of the group, favorites for this visit were pulled pork nachos and (seasonal) key lime soda. And of course, everyone loved their desserts! Our server was very nice and patient and food came out quickly. I will definitely be visiting Fitz's every time I'm in St. Louis. I even bought 2 4 packs of soda to take home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    183
    64
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Burgertastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great place for a family lunch! Yummy burgers (beef and veggie), draft root beer and my first experience with the delightful fried pickle! We had a few burgers whilst on our 1 month stay in St Louis but this was the best one washed down with draft root beer. We sampled the new 'Coffee Cola' which sounds weird but is marvellous, and finished of with a huge root beer float that was all we needed for dessert for four of us.

Watching the bottling line from our table amused the kids for ages and it's good to see a small family run business as an alternative to the faceless corporates!

Keep it up Fitz's! A must try for all visits to St Louis along with The Loop Walk of Fame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Black Cherry Soda in the World!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Discovered Fitz's about 2 years ago while visiting the Loop in St. Louis. I love a good draught Root Beer and had heard from some locals that I should try Fitz's. We arrived about 4pm on a Tues. afternoon. The place was packed. We were lucky and able to get a spot at the soda bar until our table was ready 15min later. They had 6 or 7 flavors of soda on draught. I had to try the Root Beer,it was delicious. I thought hey let's try a Black Cherry...the best I have ever had!!! Thankfully they have a bottomless mug. I think I had 10 in that 15mins. Amazing. Our table was available. I had the brisket sandwich and did not like the house BBQ sauce and that is the only reason I did not give them a 5. The staff are really friendly and attentive. Great location with a fun atmosphere inside an old bank. Really enjoyed being able to watch the bottling process. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PETE'S BEACH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Tradition for Our Family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Come check out their vintage bottling line! It's really neat watching the soda be made right in front of you! The food is also excellent and comes to you faster than you say "ROOT BEER FLOAT!" (Which are also very good)


Fitz's is a must go!! My family and I discovered this place about five years ago. We make at least an annual weekend trip to St. Louis and it just wouldn't be the same trip without a trip to Fitz's! The vintage bottling line (bottling by far some of the best root beer we've ever tasted) is so much fun to watch for adults and children alike! This trip, my new husband and I were so pleased to get to meet the owner and really get amazing first-hand knowledge of the bottling process! My children (who stayed back this trip) were genuinely jealous! :) The pickle chips are to die for! The rest of the meal ... just as pleasing! I had a burger platter and salad. My husband chose the fish and chips. Both of us were beyond pleased with the meal itself as well as the price. Oh, and I wouldn't dream of going without a bottomless mug of Root Beer! The atmosphere is really fun for couples or families. Meeting the owner was the biggest treat ever! This was Curtis' first visit and he insists on continuing our tradition of never missing Fitz's on a St. Louis long weekend! We will be back the end of July with the whole gang! Can't wait!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a fun place. You can watch them make and bottle their soda (except on Monday). The food was fantastic. I had the black and bleu burger, onion rings, and house-made root beer and it was all great. A little pricey but it was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitz's also viewed

 

Been to Fitz's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitz's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.