We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amighetti's Cafe and Bakery

Amighetti's Cafe and Bakery
5141 Wilson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-3195 (The Hill)
(314) 776-2855
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #289 of 2,524 restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: The Hill
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It had been several years since I had a Special. Perhaps my memory enhanced the sandwich beyond what it really was, but this time the sandwich was aweful! The supermarket knock-off is better (and has more meat and fillings). We visited the Rock Hill location on a Sunday afternoon, but I think the bread must have been from Friday. It was rock-hard. The kid's ham sandwich literally had a single slice of ham and that was it. What a rip off!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    25
    17
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Amighetti's was the workplace favorite whenever someone went to grab something to eat when I worked in downtown St. Louis. I have brought several visitors to eat there, and all agree that the sandwiches are fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on the Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the quintessential example of Italian dining on the Hill. Excellent Italian food, huge servings, low price. The food was out quickly after we ordered, and thankfully I had been working out, because you need to be strong to lift that much food!

The spaghetti with meatballs is the ideal Italian dish at the ideal Italian restaurant. You can't go wrong in this restaurant, though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Charming lunch location in the historic Italian Hill district on St. Louis' south side. A must have is the Amighetti's Special sandwich. The bread roll is outstanding and the sandwich is loaded with meats, cheeses, pickles and onions. Way better than chain sandwich places - a St. Louis original. The place is relatively small and can get packed at lunch time, but you can always get your order to go and take home or to a nearby park on nice days. Salads are very good too. We don't live close by, but the trip into the city is always worth a stop by Amighetti's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amighetti's special is the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Amighetti's special is a take off on the poor boy sandwich but Much, much better. Once tasting it becomes a craving for the rest of your life. Also trying the tiramisu it is the best in the U.S......trying this at 3 places on "The Hill" there is never a disappointment. The Italians here know how to make this desert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amighetti's Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Amighetti's Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amighetti's Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.