We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
211 No. Broadway, 1 Metropolitan Square, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2711 (Downtown)
+1 314-421-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #427 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $10 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Corner of Broadway and Pine
Transit: Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.
Description: Kemoll's offers gorgeous banquet halls, wedding reception venues, and fine dining, with a stunning spectacular 360 degree views of downtown STL! If you are looking for St Louis Banquet Venues, St. Louis Wedding Reception Sites, or Private Party Facilities that offers friendly, gracious service and excellent food, combined with the dazzling views of the Arch and city from the 40th & 42nd Floor, your search has ended here. Kemolls & Top of the Met are the places to be! We also offer a First-Rate St Louis Catering Service!
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a great dinner. The frutta del mare and crab cakes were delicious. Also had the veal saltimbocca and the shrimp and artichoke moutarde, both very good. Expensive but very good meal with a view. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“A View with a Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Everything was very good..and for a $110 for just 2 entrees it better be very good. The view of the city is great. Despite the elegance it was missing that classic old school feeling you get a Tony's (our waiter was wearing Nike's with his Tux) but still one of the nicest restaurants in St. Louis.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was a long night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our reservation was at 7:30. We were not finished until 10:15 PM. Everything was very slow.
They were out of their signature appetizer so we ordered calamari. It was like frozen and deep fried probably the worst I have ever had. This was so unlike the last time we were there a few months ago.There are a lot of good restaurants in St Louis. Sadly I think we will pass on this
again. It is a beautiful spot on the 40th floor with the arch and river in view and romantic, but
the food is just not as good along with slow service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic View, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic atmosphere with beyond delicious food Kemoll's is your place. Top of the Met building, you just can't get a better view of St. Louis, throw in candlelight, a wonderful staff and food that melts in your mouth it's a perfect evening. We had the Filet Douglas which was amazing. The special little surprise, the hot garlic cheese bread they bring out with the salad. If you are looking for a nice place to celebrate a special occasion this is the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth it if you have a "Groupon"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We didn't get a great table, but then we aren't pushy. Nonetheless, the view to the west was good as the light faded. Our waiter was laid back and friendly, but I am pretty sure he had smoked a cigarette before he went on duty. Coming from a community where I seldom smell cigarette smoke, that was a bit off-putting.

In terms of food, it was a mixed bag. The soup was very good, the scampi very good, and the tournedos au poivre vert excellent. The house salad was a monochromatic experience taste-wise despite all the ingredients. It is basically a Caesar and not an outstanding one. We don't go to a nice restaurant for the sweets, but the bananas Foster and the gellati were excellent.

As to the highlight, it was the cheese bread, which remains excellent year after year. But again, when spending in excess of a a hundred dollars (without drinks) for dinner in St. Louis, every dish should be impressive. At half price, Kemoll's is great, but at full price not worth it, at least if you care more about the food than the view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kemoll's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kemoll's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.