We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alls good food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag

Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag
1811 Pestalozzi St, Saint Louis, MO 63118-1720 (Benton Park)
314-773-8646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 2,549 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Benton Park
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alls good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of our local favorites. It certainly helps that it is within walking distance of our house, but even if it wasn't, we'd still frequent Frazer's a couple times a month. The wine selection is very nice, the menu has some stable items, but there are always daily specials, and they are consistently great. Service is prompt, but they don't crowd you and hover. The customers are quite diverse and that creates a good vibe too. Nice outer seating and plenty of interesting things to look at while you dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
“forget the reputation,reality counts”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a disappointment! one of the worst meals that we have had at any restaurant much less [--] priced an supposedly top St. Louis establishment.. The lavender duck was tasteless and was more like dark meat chicken. it was awful. The mahi mahi was small and the large side of beans did nothing to help the dish.. I had the strip steak and had to send it back.. It was ordered rare and came to the table medium and cold. The fries were colder.. The appetizers were over priced for what we received. Four or five lettuce leafs with hardly any of the mentioned ingredients in evidence. Let's not forget the New England chowder complete with canned clams and a no cream base.. White tasteless broth anyone? At one time they offered a good product at a reasonable price. Now, profit is king and only reputation could possibly bring in business. No vegetable with the steak, no house salad with dinner.. Just a rip! Since this was a special night as my daughter received her doctorate that
evening only made it worse No stars ,no brown bag..a barf bag would be more suited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. LOUIS, MO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice and unique menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited for the first time with another couple and enjoyed some excellent light fish dishes, chicken and pork. Printed menu looks slim however server explained about 10 off menu items. We tried four different off menu items and they were all tremendous. Ver good value compared to other like restaurants. A little pricy on their call liquors. Nice wine selection. Tried dessert which is rare for us but I must say I'm still searching for "the best key lime pie."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Find in an Interesting Part of Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I were looking for Soulard and ended up on the other side of the highway in Benton Park. The downtown historic homes are interesting and the neighborhood bars make this area appear to be a good place to live. The tripadvisor app for the iphone showed us the nearest bars and restaurants so this was easy to find. First went to Venice, only a block away and very eclectic. Venice did not serve food so we went to Frazers.

It was a Tuesday so we had the free appetizers to start. The crab artichoke dip was really good but they did not have it on the menu after happy hour was over. Had a number of beers on tap and some additional appetizers but no dinner. Overall a good experience in and interesting part of St. Louis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“They have dropped the "traveling brown bag"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This resraurant is now known as Frazer's. It is small and very cozy. I took 6 family members there for a birthday celebration and it turned ou to be a very nice experience. There were many specials offered and enough that all six of us were able to order something different. I had the Mahi Mahi and it was very good. Our server was excellent, very attentive without interfering with our celebration. If you like unusal you will love Frazer's. A block away is the world famous St. Louis AB Brewery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag also viewed

 

Been to Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.