We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bargain, but high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossing

The Crossing
7823 Forsyth Blvd, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3307
314-721-7375
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,562 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Central Ave.
Transit: Metrolink station.
Description: Featuring local "farm to table" food using a breadth of farmer in the Missouri and Illinois communities. When asked to define of The Crossing, Owner/Executive Chef Jim Fiala often says that he is a chef that buys locally whenever possible and cooks as any French and/or Italian chef would given the ingredients sourced. Joining Jim is Chef Matt Abeshouse who brings a wealth of passion and expertise in classic French cuisine to the kitchen. Our food is fresh, organic (whenever possible), seasonal and by design very simple. The Crossing stays true to classic techniques and the chefs love showing off their skills and passion for elegant food.
St. Louis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No bargain, but high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant with smallish portions, rather high prices, and a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Very Best St. Louis Has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have lived in the St. Louis area for 20 years, visited almost every fine dining establishment in and around our city, and it's my considered opinion that The Crossing is, simply put, the very best St. Louis has to offer. You'll be blown away before you even order your food by the blue cheese souffle with crostini provided gratis as an amuse bouche. Gosh, it's terrific. Honestly, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu ... which is why we always opt for one of ther multi-course tasting menu that allows you a terrific opportunity to explore several options on the menu in a multi-course meal that leaves you satisfied, not stuffed, at a cost that's very affordable by fine dining standards. As to the service, it's pretty apparent that a prerequesite to being part of the wait staff at The Crossing is that you need to be a foodie who really knows your chops, and it's readily apparent that the staff are really proud of and enthusiastic about the food that comes out of the kitchen -- and well they should be! It's also a well-designed space ... small, but in a way that manages to feel intimate rather than crowded. C'est magnifique!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A Wonderful find in Clayton, MO for both pleasure and business dinners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a find in Clayton with this restaurant! The price fix premium course menu along with wine pairings is among the best I have experienced in the US for price and quality! The restaurant is wonderful for dinning with business colleagues along with hosting a table which I have done three times now. The service is helpful and friendly and always alert in making the expereince one to truly remember! By far one of the top restaurant's in the St. Louis, MO area and a must try if you in the area looking for a memorable meal that will warm you up inside and out! Tip: Make reservations as it does get busy here ! I use open table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem In Clayton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary, we decided on The Crossing in Clayton. We have dined there a number of times and have never been disapointed.

Head Chef and owner, Jimmy Fila, was there to welcome guests. A very nice touch. The food is simply wonderful. The service was professional and friendly. Zach, our waiter, was extremely knowledgable in regards to pairing the wine with the eclectic menu choices.

My wife and I had the four-course tasting and each plate was cooked to perfection and served in a timely manner. The anchovie salad was to die for as were the sea scallops. Our main course was the yellowfin tuna which quite simply melts in your mouth. We finished off the evening with a delicious chocolate torte.

The restaurant is very small (a hidden gem) but tables are well spaced for privacy.

We just returned home from Sonoma where we enjoyed fabluous wine and food for a week. I would absolutely put The Crossing on an even playing field with any of the restaurants in wine country.


Simply Wonderful!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Engaged chef leading top notch staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was an excellent choice for an intimate birthday dinner. Excellent tasting menu with great wine pairing and delicious dishes. I love to see the chef out on the floor, engaged in the diners' experiences, leading the staff to exceptional service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crossing also viewed

 

Been to The Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.