We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST in St. Louis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Candy Kitchen

Crown Candy Kitchen
1401 Saint Louis Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63106-3920
(314) 621-9650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A MUST in St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went to Crown Candy Kitchen for lunch last week, and it was truly brilliant. My boyfriend and I arrived around 2:00pm in hopes of missing the lunchtime crowd, and were lucky to be sat within about 5 minutes of arrival. In order to get a taste of everything Crown Candy had to offer, we opted to split a chocolate milk shake (1 was plenty for both of us!) and then eat only half of our sandwiches to keep room for dessert. My boyfriend had the BLT, and it was impressive. He literally couldn't fit it all in his mouth! As a non-pork eater, I opted for the tuna salad sandwich, which was also delicious and enormous. We rounded off our lunch by splitting a Crown Sundae, which was loaded with delicious candied pecans, hot fudge and caramel sauce. Do yourself a favour and make sure to try all the delights that Crown Candy has to offer. I only wish we could have gone back to try more delicious desserts!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    139
    47
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It is tiny but big on flavor. You will probably have to wait in line, but it is worth it. The BLT is the bomb. It has enough bacon to feed at least 4 other people and is only $9.00. You must get some ice cream which is homemade. I got the Fire Chief Special, way worth the calories. Homemade chocolates as well. A MUST place to visit in St. Louis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEMO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It ain't fancy, it's FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nothing fancy here but the food is fantastic. Expect a wait but it is well worth it and you won't leave hungry. Sandwiches are great. Homemade ice cream and chocolates are to die for!!! The staff is very friendly and the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch and ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great BLT sandwich for wife, kids had ham and cheese sandwich,I had chili mac. The food was great service was very good. Then it was time for dessert homemade ice cream great chocolate Malt extra malt,rest of family split hot fudge sundae can't go wrong with anything you pick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shakes, candy and the best BLT ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sandwiches and shakes are the very best. Expect to wait to get served as they are always crowded. This is the best BLT you have ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Candy Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Crown Candy Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Candy Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.