We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Candy Kitchen

Crown Candy Kitchen
1401 Saint Louis Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63106-3920
(314) 621-9650
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,524 restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“travel back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

old time candy/icecream shop. The 'BLT' is big enough for 2, turkey melt was great. very good malts, served in the tin with glass mug. Good selection of candy, and does have carry out. Only thing expect to wait if you go small seating area, booths look like there original. Had a good time, and food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    228
    124
    41
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Imperial
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everyone needs to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Took my grand children and some friends, went there with my mom and Aunt when I was little. Well worth the wait, greatest ice cream and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great old fashion ice cream and candy store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

just as i said in the 1st line great old fashion store for both ice cream and candy went in on march the 2 they had a great supply of easter candy and my crown ice cream was great the service was also very fast

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A step back into time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Basic old classics, hard to find something healthy, business lunch, ordered at the table were the ruben, chicken salad and tuna salad sandwiches, just good food, simple and quick, then dessert, well great treat, good old fashioned malt, and a great sundae complete with cherry. we were too full to buy any of the candy for sale, (made right there) but have been thinking about it all afternoon. The atmostphere was like a step back in time. great service, place was packed but no wait, looks like lots of locals. Tables are small portions are big

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tables are designed for four people - max. When we take out of town guests, I recommend sharing the BLT sandwich and a milkshake as it is so much food. For something different ask for a Johnny Rabbit Milkshake - has bananas and a touch of nutmeg and some nuts in it - very good. For a take home treat - get a large snapper. Their candy version of a candy turtle. This place never fails in taking friends or out of town guests.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Candy Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Crown Candy Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Candy Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.