We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

very nice location and a extremely friendly staff. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I like the restaurant and nightly entertainment. A wonderful place to stay. The breakfast was great. Arrrived on a Wednesday, left on a Saturday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    194
    64
    9
    6
See reviews for
218
184
27
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the arch and numerous restaurants. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The restaurant had great food. The free breakfast had fesh fruit and waffles. The only downside was the pan handlers right outside the front door. The hotel also charges to park the car so be aware when comparing prices. The room had a note that the sheets are cleaned between guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family was looking forward to staying at Hampton Inns. Especially at this location with the view of the St. Louis Arch. The location and facility was great. The pool area was great for the kids. The front desk staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. Now here comes the bad part. The room next to us had screaming kids (parents...please be sensitive to others around you when you have screaming kids). They started to talk really loud until 8-9 ish at night and started again at 6am. We called the front desk to complain but the screaming did not stop. When we when down for breakfast, the staff was rude, they ran out of food and the food that was left was cold. Can't believe we got attitude for asking for butter. The hotel even ran out of butter!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate your kind comments regarding our facility and our front desk staff. However, I am deeply sorry you were forced to tolerate noisy neighbors and an unacceptable breakfast. We take our guests comfort very seriously, and are always happy to intervene with noise issues. I'm sorry you had so much trouble.
Regarding our breakfast- cold food, no butter and bad attitudes are completely unacceptable, and I have alerted the appropriate departments, including our General Manager. Thank you for making us aware of this situation, because now we can insure that it does not happen again.
Thank you again for your review, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to make amends. Please contact me at your earliest convenience, I would love to speak with you personnally.
Best Regards,
Julie Korte
Guest Service Lead
korte@raymondteam.com
314-621-7900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After twentyfour years of traveling I must my stay at Hampton Inn at the Gateway Arch was the best experience ever. The Staff was wonderful. We recieved the best treatment and were given the best advice about the city and the attractions. They knew that we had speicial needs. The acomadations were everything. The love given by the staff meant everything. You travel by your heart and the love,friendship and the extra mile mean everything. I have never felt safer.
Thank You All
Sincerely
Judy Carlton

Room Tip: Rooms on any floor or on any side are great. You are within walking distance for all attraction. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Room was a standard room, pretty clean. Still though room for improvement. The attached restaurant feels odd. But great food. Arrived on Sunday and Monday morning breakfast was crowded but on Tuesday it was perfect. Kids loved the pool,i only allowed them ito put Thier feet in the hot tub, looked gross to me. The game room it's a rip off. Don't bother.
The location was great. We could walk to everything. Parking lot is tigh and $14 a day with your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful to stay in the downtown area. Right across the street from the Arch, nearing restaurants, and close to Busch stadium. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Parking is included with your stay, as well as breakfast. We tried eating breakfast both Saturday and Sunday mornings but it was waaaay too crowded so we went to a Denny's near our next attraction. The pool area was very gross, as I counted 3 dirty band aids, lots of hair balls, and other disgusting "stuff" on the pool deck. The hot tub was broken, as well. Overall, it was a great value and perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well it all started when we checked! !! Customer service Plus, Michael you need to be recognised for your customer service, this guy made us so welcome, and the room views were to die for, if you can get a room with a view of the Arch, would recommend it. We loved this hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff and service impecable, a real credit. I would definately stay here again, loved St Louis, thank you Hatcher Family :-)

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Arch!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from the Edward Jones Dome, one block from Laclede’s Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals is only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link.The Metro link, St. Louis’ light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.