We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price with AAA discount! Amazing service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price with AAA discount! Amazing service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great hotel! I think they recently updated everything, new and modern looking. Great welcoming atmosphere! Nice sized rooms, great view of the arch. I would stay here again! There is a pool and a game room as well. The breakfast was pretty good and well stocked. I recommend this hotel. My only issue was I had a hard time finding it the first day and accidently took a LONG detour to get back. So take your time while driving :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    212
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
239
195
28
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at your hotel and wanted to write and congratulate you on what a great job your staff is doing. Our company does work in East St. Louis and had been staying at a different hotel. The difference is night and day. From the moment of arrival we felt welcomed and cared for.

The front desk people are always pleasant and willing to help—from providing directions to helping us find good places to eat. A perfect example is Portland. He was proactive by always greeting us, asking how we were doing and if we needed anything.

Congratulations, again, and I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The service (from Portland) and the lobby were very good. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was good. I drove from Chicago for a concert and overnight stay. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown and where everything is happening. I plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle_B_Brown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here on two different occasions for business. The hotel is in need of some updating, but generally it was a nice stay. The adjoining restaurant is also dated and the food is so-so. There are no microwaves in the room. I found this to be a bit inconvenient due to my custom of coming in late from work and wanting to heat something from the fridge/freezer (rather than eat out every night). The elevators can also be a tad slow.

The staff however were very pleasant and helpful. It was a comfortable stay, but not at all outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGatewayArch, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. It's not often that we get such a reaction to the condition of our property, but understand that you may think so as the building itself (not the hotel) is quite old. Our ownership has invested much time and money in keeping the hotel updated and in good condition, but always want to hear any feedback such as this and it will be passed on. We do have many microwaves available upon request, I apologize that you were not informed of this during your stays. We very much appreciate the kudos regarding our customer service and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stays. Thank you for staying with us.

Kyle Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis,tn
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you are in the downtown area, this hotel is a must stay. Perfect location if in town for a NFL game. The parking is a bit of a hassle. Makes you feel like you are locked in once the garage opens and closes. Best to take off walking than to get the car in and out of the garage. Must I say, ive been to downtown St. Louis a couple of times and on every single encounter.... the downtown area shuts down at an early time and if the hotel you stay at doesnt offer dinner, you are out of luck. Luckily this time around we found a TGIF Fridays that was open. Had to walk about 5 blocks to find it though. There is a Irish Pub right next door to this hotel but no variety in places to eat at all after hours. Pool was nice, probably the most kid freindly pool area I had seen in awhile. I would definetly stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: High Floors, beautiful Skyline, pool area overlooks the Arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGatewayArch, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. You mentioned there weren't many late dining options in the area. Please consult the front desk next time and they can direct you to many options only a few blocks away. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again.

Best Regards,

Kyle Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the first three nights in October to watch the Cardinals play the Reds in the season ending series in which they clinched the wild card spot in the MLB playoffs. It is about 6 or 7 blocks to the ballpark but it was an easy walk and we felt safe as we returned from each nights game. It I had known the Rams played in the Thursday night NFL game we would have stayed another night and gone to the game.

The Hampton is in a convenient location to get on the Interstate and to access downtown. Parking is plentiful and was reasonably priced. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants. There is a large breakfast area in the basement. It contained a good selection of items for breakfast although my wife made waffles for us each morning with cinnamon sugar, walnuts and dried cranberries added.

Next to the Westin which is a half block away from the ballpark, this was an excellent place to stay in downtown St. Louis. The rates are much better here at the Hampton than the Westin. We will probably be returning here on our once yearly trip to St. Louis for some Cardinal games and Italian food on The HIll. We also like to stop at Trader Joe's where we stock up on unique food items and their selection of coffees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I choose this hotel specifically because I wanted a great view of the Arch--and it did not disappoint! We had a wonderful, unobstructed view of the Arch. Staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and up to date. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You definitely want to get an Arch view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from the Edward Jones Dome, one block from Laclede’s Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals is only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link.The Metro link, St. Louis’ light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.