We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Hitch`s” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #10 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Few Hitch`s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Firstly.I cannot complain about the staff who are very friendly ,however.I would suggest that the hotel obtains the plate numbers of guests who park in the hotel parking lot.We stayed on July the 4th and the amount of idiots who took up two parking spaces was disgraceful.Parking was very difficult as a result.I booked a romance package for my wife and i must say the flowers were wilted,surely they should put some water in the vase(it was106 degrees).The wine was from Italy Asti which i hate(but thats just a personal thing,not the hotels fault).At 8.20 am the fire alarm went off which after a late night did not sit well.Eventually got through to reception who told us to ignore it .after about 20 minutes it went again and by this time the whole hotel was wide awake.Gave up after the second alarm and continued on my journey.I hope the alarm was not deliberately set off to arose all the guests and get them moving.The hotel was packed at the time.The rooms are very clean and the staff are good but i found my stay very avarage

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGatewayArch, Manager at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. We understand that this was a special stay and again I apologize for the inconveniences that occurred. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. I have been informed that a member of our staff has sent you a free stay pass. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    213
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
239
196
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our family stays at this place every year and we look forward to our trip here all year long. This hotel is very clean, in an excellent location, has wonderful staff and beautiful rooms! These past two years we have had the pleasure of having a front desk clerk named Portland help us. He is very friendly, accomodating and comical. The hot breakfast they serve goes above and beyond our expectations for a hotel-provided meal. When we have ever had any questions or concerns while being there, the staff is always more than helpful. We would rate this as the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the Midwest.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite facing the Arch...beautiful view and very interesting watching people walking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Property was in great shape and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The area is buzzing with activity and there are many things to do/see in St. Louis. The hotel is in a convenient location downtown that offers easy access to many attractions as well as to highways heading in any direction you need to travel. The hotel's restaurant also had great food!

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room with a view of the St. Louis Arch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The weather in St. Louis was over 100 degrees, so it was not a surprise when our room had trouble cooling down. We called the desk to see if the situation could be improved. After sending a maintenance man, we were offered a new room. The manager on duty was extremely accommodating. He personally showed us to the new room. We received excellent customer service from the entire staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hampton Inn at the Gateway Arch is in a great location! Easy walk to the Arch and to many restaurants in the area. There is a restaurant (Tigin's Irish Pub and Restaurant) located in the hotel. We loved it! They have a parking garage that was very secure, you have to use your key to get in and out and you have to use your key to get access into the hotel after parking. There is a parking fee, but it was worth it to park in a secure lot.
The staff is excellent! The front desk was amazing, always friendly and helpful. Chris at the front desk was so helpful in giving us directions to Forest Park. Security was visible and very friendly, we went during the St. Louis Fair and the crowds were massive, but Security always had a smile and made sure things ran smoothly. James always had a smile for everyone and kept the elevators working properly. He was very kind to my kids. The housekeeping staff is outstanding. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were nice and cool, clean and comfortable. Our rooms had nice clean, new looking carpet and bed linens. We splurged on Arch view rooms and it was a breath taking view!
The breakfast had something for everyone in our party, eggs, bacon/sausage, fruit, pastries, waffles, cereal, bagels and more. It was crowded but the staff kept the food stocked and there are several extra tables in the lobby for overflow.
The indoor pool was very clean and had plenty of room for the kids to play and swim. The hot tub wasn't working, but maintenance had been called. There were plenty of chairs to sit around the pool. The towels were plentiful, the staff member at the pool was very friendly.
Excellent service and location, we look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location downtown within walking distance of the Arch, convention center, and Edward Jones dome.

This seems to be an older building converted to a Hampton with a parking garage taking the first few floors. The indoor pool and hot tub on the 5th floor. We took a room on the 5th floor, which the staff said were bigger than rooms on the other floors. They were very big and we had no problems with noise from the pool.

The free breakfast is nice, nothing amazing but good. My sons loved the pool and the donuts at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

During the four day/three night stay at this hotel last week, I found not one thing to complain about but many things to praise.

1. The staff is outstanding. In my reviews I often note that a hotel staff is friendly, but this staff goes beyond that. Their hospitality was genuine, among the best I've ever encountered. Anything we asked for was provided immediately. Example - I asked Scott at the front desk if he could recommend a good place for pedicures. Clearly he is not the type of guy that gets pedicures, but he promptly called his girlfriend and then provided to me a printout of the location she recommended including a map and directions. When we asked for ideas for a good BBQ restaurant, Adam gave an excellent account of places near the hotel and also gave tips on those that deliver to the hotel. These recommendations were not recited in a robotic way, but instead the staff was eager to provide whatever was needed to make our stay in St. Louis more enjoyable.
2. Breakfast. I've seen a lot of breakfast rooms and this one tops them all. First of all, the room itself is gargantuan and a lot of thought went into decorating and furnishing this room. How many times have you been in a hotel breakfast area and there is no one in sight to replenish food as it runs out? You will not have that issue at this hotel. There was a staff of about 1/2 dozen constantly on the move here, bringing new food, cleaning the place, helping guests. The manager, wearing a three-piece suit each day, worked as hard as his crew to ensure the best breakfast experience possible and they succeeded in impressing their guests. The selection of breakfast items is slightly expanded compared to other chain hotels, but the food was spaced out so that filling your plate was not an irritating experience, as we have all endured in small hotel breakfast nooks.
3. Location. One of the biggest tourist destinations in St. Louis is the Gateway Arch. How lovely it was to open our drapes and have a great view of this landmark. Not every room has an Arch view, but the hotel is in very close proximity to the Arch and Mississippi River, as well as several restaurants, downtown shopping, and even Busch Stadium. The places that are not nearby are easily accessible via the city's mass transit system which is reasonably priced, in good condition, and not far from the hotel.
4. Restaurant. I typically run the opposite way of hotel restaurants for a variety of reasons, mainly because they are bland and because I want to experience the native food. However on our first night in town we were whooped, so settled for the attached eatery - Tigin Irish Pub. Wow - knocked our socks off! Excellent food and good service - I recommend at least one meal here if you're staying at the Hampton.
5. Amenities and extras. The guest laundry, gym and large pool are nice bonuses. What really got me was that for years I have been trying to find an eye makeup remover that works. One of the toiletries that this hotel offers in every room is a packet of makeup remover. It's the best I've ever used and I ordered some online last night for home use. But my point is, everything in this hotel is thoughtfully appointed right down to the makeup remover! There is also a small convenience store located near the front desk that is extremely handy if you've forgotten your nail clippers or are craving an ice cream bar.
6. The air conditioner kept our room nice and cold. Enough said.

I could rattle on and on, but you get the point. If you are going to downtown St. Louis, I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: 17th floor view of the Arch is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from the Edward Jones Dome, one block from Laclede’s Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals is only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link.The Metro link, St. Louis’ light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.