We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location--would stay again with a little tweaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Suburban Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Location--would stay again with a little tweaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We checked in for a two night stay on Friday, April 10th. We spent the afternoon shopping at the Galleria which is a very nice mall about 30 minutes away, so we didn't arrive until about 5:30pm. It was a zoo pulling up to the front of the hotel. They do not have valet parking and it is on a busy city street with virtually no parking, so there were so many cars pulled up in front of the hotel trying to get carts to unload we had to circle the block a few times to pull in. The front desk staff was very nice and check in went smoothly. The parking garage we were assigned ($12 per night over room rate) was about two blocks away, so be sure to drop off your luggage first. Very nice lobby. We had a junior suite on the second floor. The suites have a private elevator which is nice because the other elevator seemed really busy. Our room was nice enough--it was a corner room. If we were to stay again, I would ask for an interior room on a higher floor--I think it would be quiter and have a better layout. The breakfast buffett that is included in the room was nice; however, on Saturday morning when we went down there, first there were no seats. Then we found a table. Then no plates, Then no forks, Then no food. Finally, doing things piece meal, we were able to get a good breakfast. It wasn't for lack of the staff trying because they were working very hard. It was just flooded with people. We didn't even bother with it the next day. The indoor pool was nice enough. We were in town for a Cardinals game, so it was a very convenient walk to the stadium and to the arch. The price was right for breakfast and an evening drink being included. Nice wireless access.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    292
    54
    15
    5
See reviews for
411
263
49
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We have to join the others and sing praises for this hotel. For the money, it is hard to say one negative thing about the place. The room was clean and updated, the entire staff was friendly and seemed genuinely happy to serve guests, the beverage reception was a nice bonus, the kids loved the popcorn and other snacks. Breakfast buffet was fine and there was plenty of staff keeping the food replenished and clearing tables. The hotel is in walking distance of Busch Stadium with views of the arch. Five of us stayed in a double room with one fold-away bed. It was tight but fine for the little time we spent in the room. The pool area was nice - clean and updated - but like most indoor hotel pools, the chemicals were all messed up and you could barely stand the intensity of the chlorine not to mention the cloudy and murky water. A little fitness room is adjacent to the pool and although it is limited in size and scope, all the equipment was working and relatively new. For the price, we totally recommend Drury Plaza. We might choose a hotel with an outdoor pool in the summer, but for a winter break, this hotel would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights on business in April of 2009. This was my first time staying at a Drury hotel and was pleasantly surprised with the experience. The lobby was great and check-in was a breeze. When I walked into the room I was pleased to see how clean and up to date everything was. From the stone countertops in the bathroom to the comfortable bed, everything was in new order and was perfect for a business traveler like myself. The new flat screen TV was huge and having the ability to watch high definition channels in the room was great. Being that this was my first time staying at a Drury hotel I was pleased with all of the free amenities that come with staying in the hotel. From the free breakfast, evening cocktails, free high-speed internet, free long distance calls. The list of free items was seemingly endless and really made my stay at the Drury even more enjoyable. The only negative aspect in regards to this hotel is that you can really hear when someone next door or close by closes their door. The next time I am in St. Louis I will absolutely stay at this Drury location as there are not many negative aspects that I encountered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. First of all the property itself is a stunning hotel, the lobby is both luxurious and comfortable, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, everything is first rate. The location is fantastic close to all the 'touristy' spots of the downtown area. The staff was helpful and friendly and quick to be there if you needed them. The parking is safe and convenient (and yes it was $15 a night but you are downtown in a 'major' city, that's just the ropes! The pool on the 8th floor is clean and attractive, the breakfast is hearty and there is plenty of choices, the drinks and snacks at night are a great perk.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My family and I stayed in a suite at the Drury Plaza at the Arch on the nights of March 25 and 26, 2009. I can not report a single negative. This was a very clean, comfortable, and well appointed hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. This includes everyone, not just those at the front desk who are paid to smile at you. The extras were also nice. There is a free hot breakfast and free soft drinks and popcorn in the evening. Those over the age of 21 are treated to three free alcoholic beverages in the evening as well. My wife and I did not take advantage of this, so I can not advise what is on the drink menu. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Arch and just about everything else you would want to do in downtown St. Louis. The hotel is very secure. You are required to have your key to access the elevators in the lobby, pool, laundry, and parking garage. I do suggest you pay the extra $15 per night for the parking. We will stay here during all future visits to St. Louis.

Oh, while you're in the area, you should take a carriage ride in the down town area. Look up Carol Smith. She is a very sweet lady.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I had a wedding next door at the Millenium Hotel. It was a nightmare so we moved here to the Drury Plaza. The Assistant Manager was very accomodating. Front Desk staff the best I have ever dealt with. My wedding party unhappy with the other property moved to the Drury, including us. Assistant Manager took her time to show us different rooms to meet our needs. I was pleased with every aspect of this hotel from the minute I walked in, till the time we checked out. This property saved our wedding night. If you chose this hotel you will be pleased, and if your not, they will do everything possible to assist their guests. Excellent Breakfast in the morning, real clean rooms and very friendly staff. I will spent my year anniversary at this property because of how they treated us!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Staff was awesome, asked the desk clerk what to do and he gave a list of 50 things to do in St. Louis. 3 Free hard Drinks per day per person. Great free breakfast, pancakes, eggs, very good. Awesome view of the arch, if we go to St. Louis again we will stay there no doubt. I wish all hotels were like this one. $15 per day to park but it is safe, no complaint just a heads up. You easily make up for it with the other things you get.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we say “by the arch”, we mean it. This hotel is around the corner from the arch and only a few blocks from Busch Stadium, the Washington Avenue loft district and more. Drury Plaza Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.