We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urbana 12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Save Saved
You added Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Urbana 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went there with a group from my church for the Urbana conference that takes place every 3 yrs. The staff was excellent at handling the big crowds from the conference and the fact that they served breakfast and lunch was a big plus for me and my crew. The walk to the stadium was not that far away and worth it for the food. The rooms were very nice and the facilities were always excellent. This hotel definitely super-ceded my expectations and made my stay in St. Louis memorable. Not to menition the fact that the MS River and the Arch were out my back window!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side for better views of the Arch and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    271
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
394
242
45
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Very dated. In desperate need of an upgrade especially for the amount of money per night. Everything seemed clean. The overwhelming stinch of stale smoke is what did it for me. Did not get any sleep due to the horrendous smell and bed pillows were very uncomfortable. Still in shock at how dated it was. There were popcorn trails all throughout the halls and elevators. *Can you please fix the STINCH!!!!!!*

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor! It is from input from our guests that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate & improve our product and services.

We want to always exceed our guests' expectation. I am so sorry that we did not succeed during your stay in providing that experience. During any stay, please contact our guest services agent immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. We want to correct situations as they arise, while our guests are present, so that may go away with a positive and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Last time in St. Louis I stayed at the Hampton. Decided to try something different this time. The Drury was an excellent choice. Great location right at the arch. One block from the park where you can get an awesome picture of the courthouse in front of the arch. Both meals were great. Evening meal had chicken tenders, hot dogs, mac n cheese, nachos, and more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My Husband and I chose this hotel because of it being a Drury Inn and it was in a great location. The arch, the old courthouse, the old cathedral, and the baseball stadium all within a block of the hotel. The Anheuser Busch Brewery, the Basilica, and the Science Museum were a short drive. We were not disappointed!

Parking in the building is limited and does cost extra but once you check in and if you get a parking pass that pass is good for the length of your stay. So you don't have to worry about taking out your car and not getting a spot when you return.

It is a very nice looking, well kept hotel. The first floor reception area is very inviting with many chairs, couches, gas fireplace, all day coffee, soda, and popcorn. They even have a decent Italian restaurant in the same building.

Even though we did not partake in their happy hour, that is at no extra cost, it is a great offering, and if we had kids it would even be better. They offered 3 alcoholic drinks per adult, the food bar had hot dogs, mac & cheese, baked potatoes, chicken nuggets, chips and salsa, and chili.

Their breakfast offered pancakes, sausage patties, eggs, potatoes, toast, cereal, donuts, fruit, juice, coffee, etc.

The rooms are decent size, we had a king bed and had plenty of room to spread out. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator and flat screen tv. The decor was nice, dark cherry wood, clean, good condition. The baths were also updated and clean. We were very comfortable.

The pool area was also nice and clean. The pool was not large and the deepest point was about 5ft but it was a nice perk along with two hot tubs in the pool area.

We came to explore St. Louis and that we did, even though a snow storm came through and the whole city shut down one of the days we enjoyed reading by the fire, had a nice swim, and enjoyed a pizza at the italian restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Classy, sophisticated, great location, parking ramp, nice/helpful employees, impressive room. I loved everything about my stay (even the room price made me happy), with the exception of one big thing. The coffee maker, and the coffee packets are on the bathroom sink...where people brush their teeth. I started to make coffee in the morning when I noticed the coffee packets, sweetener, and the caddy they were held in were covered in someone's toothpaste splatter. Keep in mind that I haven't brushed my teeth there yet. I am getting nauseous just recalling it. The impressive bathroom has granite and marble from floor to ceiling, but it means nothing if it doesn't appear to be cleaned properly. Ick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor! It is from input from our guests that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate & improve our product and services.

We want to always exceed our guests' expectation. I am so sorry that we did not succeed during your stay in providing that experience. During any stay, please contact our guest services agent immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. Thank you very much for your feedback on the placement of the coffee amenities. This is certainly an item that we need to look at further. We want to correct situations as they arise, while our guests are present, so that may go away with a positive and memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel at all. Great staff, all very friendly and helpful, when booking inn my teenage son asked about the pool, so the very nice man on reception put us in a room right near the pool, which was great, we used the pool a few times and always enjoyed it. The room was very clean and a good size. Loved the free breakfast and evening meal and the boys loved the free popcorn and soda. Great location for st louis arch, only a short walk through a park. Would def stay here again if in st louis. Free parking is also a bonus,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room was NOT clean,opened the beds to find candy wrappers. The room was a non-smoking room with a stale left over stench of smoke. That being said, upon letting the staff know, they did remedy the linen situation and refund us 1/4 of our bill total. We very much appreciated that. The hotel is pricey. It does come with a free breakfast and it is a large assortment of things from scrambled eggs, sausage patties, toast, juices, fruit and more. While it was a lot of food and convenient to not have to leave the hotel, it was mediocre at best. The hotel is decor is dated, yet not tired. It has the old south feel with huge chandeliers, heavy drapery and lots of marble. It was not unattractive but not very inviting, either. The rooms are quite, despite the loud noise of children running in the hallways. The hotel seemed to have a lot of young families staying the weekend we were there.

We were surprised to find the elevators not cleaned overnight. Popcorn (they offer free popcorn and pop in the lobby in the evenings) was left trampled on the floor with candy wrappers and trash from the night before. By 11:00 a.m. I would have thought that to be cleaned up.

The locations is superb. A block from the Arch, a block from the Busch Stadium, and a really good Italian restaurant around the corner for dinner.

Would I stay here again? No. Was it horrible? No. But, I have had better experiences at Hampton Inn's.

Room Tip: The room was quiet, we choose a suite with a bedroom and a living room. The bedroom didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor! It is from input from our guests that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate & improve our product and services.

We always want to exceed our guests' expectations. I'm so sorry that we were unable to do so while you were here with us. During any stay, please contact our guest services agent immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. Many of the situations you encountered should have been addressed by hotel staff, and it is understandable that those incidents would be unappealing. Your comments are good feedback to help us improve our property. I'll certainly bring them to the appropriate people, so we can look at ways to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we say “by the arch”, we mean it. This hotel is around the corner from the arch and only a few blocks from Busch Stadium, the Washington Avenue loft district and more. Drury Plaza Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.